AUS v IND 2018

BCCI announced Bumrah-less squad for series against Australia and New Zealand

Star India paceman will not feature in three-match series against Australia after stunning Test campaign.

Photo: Punit Paranjpe / AFP

NEW DELHI: Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah was Tuesday rested for the upcoming one-day series in Australia and tour of New Zealand after playing a key role in India’s historic Test triumph Down Under.

Workload management has prompted both Australia and India to rest their most potent paceman from the upcoming Gillette ODI series, with in-form spearhead Jasprit Bumrah to miss all three games.

Bumrah collected 21 wickets at 17 to help India record their maiden Test series win in Australia.

The 25-year-old with the awkward action was the leading wicket-taker of the series and was expected to be similarly potent with the white ball, having grabbed 78 wickets at 21 to be the top-ranked ODI bowler in the world.

Mohammed Siraj, who is yet to make his ODI debut, has replaced Bumrah in India’s one-day squad.

Gun batsman Rohit Sharma, who missed the fourth Test following the birth of his first child, headlines the list of reinforcements that India will call upon in the 50-over format.

Rishabh Pant, who attracted comparisons to Adam Gilchrist after his sparkling Test century in Sydney, will hand the wicketkeeping gloves over to former skipper MS Dhoni.

Another rookie paceman Siddarth Kaul will take Bumrah’s place in three Twenty20 internationals in New Zealand.

Virat Kohli’s team will now take on the hosts in three one-day internationals starting Saturday in Sydney, and then travel to New Zealand for a limited-overs series later this month.

“Keeping in mind the workload of the bowler, it was best felt to give him adequate rest ahead of the home series against Australia,” the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said in statement.

“It’s a part of the workload management we are following,” Prasad told India Today.

You have seen how many players we are resting these days. This kid has played the T20s and the four high-intensity Tests.

“The body also takes a wear and tear. He is having a few niggles, he needs to recover. I am sure he will come back much stronger.”

The ODI Series between Australia and India will kick off from January 12.

India ODI Squad (vs Auustralia)

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

Schedule of ODI Series:

First ODI: January 12, SCG (D/N)

Second ODI: January 15, Adelaide Oval (D/N)

Third ODI: January 18, MCG (D/N)

India T20I Squad (vs New Zealand)

Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Kedar Jadhav, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul, Khaleel Ahmed.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top