ICC’s premier tournament CWC

The ICC Cricket World Cup is the international championship of One-Day International (ODI) cricket. This event is organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC) every four years. Preliminary qualification rounds leading up to the final tournament itself. This tournament is one of the world’s most-viewed sporting event and is considered the flagship event of the international cricket calendar by the ICC. The first Cricket World Cup was organized by England in June 1975, the host being the ones having invested this sport.

The first ODI cricket match was played only four years prior to the first World Cup. Interestingly, a Women’s Cricket World Cup had been held two years before the Men’s Cricket World Cup. England, the hosts of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 were crowned champions on 14 July 2019. The two teams were tied on 241 runs at the end of the match, resulting in a Super Over being played to break the tie. On the final ball of New Zealand’s Super Over, after equalling the 15 runs England managed in their over, Martin Guptill attempted to score the winning run but was run out by wicket-keeper Jos Buttler, meaning the Super Over was also tied. England won the boundary countback rule, having scored 26 boundaries to New Zealand’ 17, therefore becoming Cricket World Cup winners for the first time.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 was the first time a One-Day International match required a Super Over, and subsequently the first time it had been decided by a boundary count. The match has been described as one of the greatest and most dramatic in the history of the sport, with some analysts describing it as the greatest match in the history of One-Day cricket! Out of the 12 One-Day International World Cup’s, Australia who are considered a consistent and one of the strongest performers in the game have won 5 titles, the most by any nation. The West Indies and India have bagged two World Cup’s each, whereas Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England have one each to their name. The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, being the next One-Day Cricket World Cup will be held in India.

Some of the most exciting historic has been a part of One-Day cricket such as England vs Australia and Pakistan vs India. Pakistan currently holds the record of winning the most ODI matches between Pakistan and India. Due to political disputes, Pakistan no longer often meets India in ODI matches with the exception of those at ICC tournaments such as the Cricket World Cup or Champions Trophy. The last series Pakistan played against India was in 2012 in India in which Nasir Jamshed and Junaid Khan played brilliant cricket. ODI cricket is classed as the most common form of the game and provides exhilaration to its fan which makes it such an exciting form of the game.

Written by: Jamal

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top