Race towards Ballon D’or

fifa-ballon-dor-1421155952Ballon D’or award was given to the best player in the world from the last 6 years. But from this year onward, the best player will be given the Best FIFA Men’s Player award. This year’s Ballon D’or winner’s name will be disclosed on 12 Dec, which is just a few days away. FIFA shared a shortlist of 30 players, from whom only one will win the prestigious award. As always, everyone’s eyes will be on two sensational players, Leo Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

            For the last eight years, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi have taken turns winning the prestigious Ballon d’Or award. Ronaldo won the award in 2008 before seeing his rival take it for four straight years. Ronaldo then took it back for two more years before Messi won it last season. Many people say that Cristiano Ronaldo will win this year’s Ballon D’or, while many of them support Leo Messi. From my point of view, Messi will win this prestigious award. Let’s take a look at Messi and Ronaldo’s stats in 2016.

           Messi has scored 56 goals and has given 32 assists for both Club & Country, these are some majestic figures ! While he is also the top-scorer of 2016/17 UEFA Champions League with 10 goals despite missing a match. Messi was also the part of the triumphant FC Barcelona team which won La Liga 2015/16 and Copa Del Rey.

          Cristiano Ronaldo meanwhile, has scored 51 goals and has given just 17 assists for both Club & Country. Again some awe-inspiring figures ! Cristiano Ronaldo was the captain of the Portuguese Team which won 2016 UEFA Euro Cup, when the odds were stacked against his team. He won the UEFA Champions League 2015/16 with his club Real Madrid, while he was the top scorer of that tournament too.

         As we can unmistakably see, Messi clearly leads the way if we talk about Goal-scoring and assists; which are important if one has to win the peculiar award. The main reason why Ronaldo has a slight advantage is because he won two MAJOR trophies with club and country, which are considered the foremost trophies a club/country can win. When we compare these stats to the other 28 players, they are simply outmatched, no one comes even close to Messi and Ronaldo. These two players have been ruling the world of football from almost a decade now, winning distinguished awards every now and then; that no one now thinks that anyone will surpass them until they are playing.

          Messi should win the Ballon D’or this time as he has scored more goals than anyone else,  gave a considerable amount of assists of tremendous quality which left everyone awe-struck. He took his team to Copa America’s final (the final was a let-down) and won two trophies which are not to be ignored. No offence to Ronaldo, he’s a phenomenal player too but he is being given a little too much credit for his two trophies. With this being said, there’s hardly any chance that anyone else than both of these supercalifragilisticexpialidocious players will win Ballon D’or this time around.

Race towards Ballon D’or
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top