CPL News

Indian Owner of CPL team approached Pakistani Player for fixing

At a time when Karnataka Premier League and Tamil Nadu Premier League are being investigated for match-fixing, another Indian has found himself in hot waters for the same reason.

An Indian owner of a Caribbean Premier League (CPL) team come under the Anti-Corruption scanner. According to reports, the owner was abruptly sent back from the tournament this year. The investigation has been going on ever since.

According to a report in Bangalore Mirror, an incident of approach was reported to the Anti-Corruption Unit of the CPL during the initial stages of the tournament.

The cricketer who was approached for fixing was a Pakistani. Photo: Getty Images

Soon after that, the owner, who reportedly hails from South India, was asked to leave the Caribbeans. The officials had later informed the other owners of the franchise too about the matter.

The report claimed that the owner made an approach to a player from Pakistan. However, the player followed the protocol and reported the matter to the ACU officials.

A number of Pakistani cricketers were part of CPL including Shoaib Malik, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Hasnain, Asif Ali, Wahab Riaz, Amad Butt and Usama Mir.

Pakistani pacer Mohammad Hasnain’s performance in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) earned him a hug of appreciation by Shah Rukh Khan himself.

A number of Indians are owners of the CPL teams with Kolkata Knight Riders co-owner Shah Rukh Khan being the most prominent name. The Bollywood star Shahrukh Khan is the owner of the Trinbago Knight Riders along with Juhi Chawla and Jay Mehta.

Former Royal Challengers Bangalore co-owner Vijay Mallya was involved with the Barbados Tridents before being replaced as the owner this year.

It is reported that investigation regarding the matter is now underway. The CPL has decided to keep the matter under the wrap for the time being as the ACU continues its investigation.

The CPL only gave a statement about the league’s policy towards the anti-corruption matter when asked about the owner.

“We do not make comments with regard to any anti-corruption matters so will not be offering a comment here. For background and for your information, the CPL works very closely with the ICC and our own anti-corruption team and all reports from players and officials are investigated thoroughly,” a CPL spokesperson told the news outlet.

The CPL is a six-team league comprising franchises from Trinidad, Guyana, Barbados, Jamaica, St Kitts and St Lucia. It was the seventh season of the league, which was won by Barbados Tridents.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top