Champions Trophy 2017

BCCI surrenders in front of ICC

After a long sequel of dramas of threatening ICC, BCCI finally decided to play Champions Trophy in England starting from June 1. BCCI were initially threatening ICC by boycotting Champions Trophy to get the desired amount of revenue from ICC. All other boards voted against BCCI’s revenue model in the ICC Board Meetings in April.

BCCI were planning to send a letter to ICC, but Committee of Administrators (CoA) had directed BCCI to announce the squad immediately otherwise they would face isolation from ICC Events.

BCCI finally agreed to send their team for the Champions Trophy after conducting a special meeting on Sunday. India will announce their 15 men squad on Monday, May 8.

India won ICC Champions Trophy once in 2013 under the captaincy of MS Dhoni in English Conditions and shared one time with Sri Lanka back in 2002 when R. Premadasa Stadium poured under heavy rain for couple of days.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top