Champions Trophy 2017

England Ready For The Champions Trophy 2017

The England Cricket Board today announced their 15-Men squad for the Champions Trophy 2017. England, who will be hosting the Champions trophy in June have selected a competitive pack of players despite some names could not make it to the final 15.

“We have made encouraging progress over the past 18 months in white ball cricket and the squads selected reflect consistency and give options across all disciplines,” James Whitaker, the England cricket selector, said. “It is pleasing that Mark Wood and David Willey have returned to full fitness. They add variety and quality to our bowling strengths and David’s ability as an attacking batsman is also an important element for us.”

Here’s England’s squad for the Champions Trophy :

 Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Steven Finn misses out his chance to be in the team as Jake Ball is preferred over him who made his debut against Bangladesh last year, Bagging some impressive wickets including a 5-wicket haul.

Mark Wood comes back as his fitness was an issue but James Whitaker confirmed that he’s fully fit. David Willey who missed England’s tour to West Indies due to an injury is however also declared fit and will be part of the England squad in the Champions Trophy.

England, who are probably one of the finding nations for the game of the cricket have never shown full potential in most of the One Day tournaments in the cricket history. Their best achievements in the One Day tournaments are finishing 5 times as runner-ups in the final ( 2 times in Champions Trophy ) has given them a tag of ” Final Bottlers ” which they are ambitious enough this time to take it off and win glory at home. England has focused more on test cricket in their history but those disappointing side effects from World Cups and Champions Trophy’s performance led the board to work on the shorter formats cricket on every prospect. With the help of Royal London One-Day Cup, many new names were introduced to the England Cricket. Mark Wood, Jason Roy, Sam Billings and Jake Ball are one of them. England have really improved their team and developed in the short format cricket and now has an ”All-Rounder” team and will be one of the best team in Champions Trophy if they continue their current winning form.

Eoin Morgan will lead England in the Champions Trophy. England will face Australia, Bangladesh and New Zealand in the group stage. England will start their Champions Trophy campaign against Bangladesh on 1st June, 2017 at the Oval.

England Ready For The Champions Trophy 2017
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top