Champions Trophy 2017

ICC Champions Trophy 2017 – The Numbers Game

The eighth edition of Champions Trophy will kick off next month on June 1st 2017 with the first game between Bangladesh and England. The ICC Champions Trophy is competed between top 8 international teams in the ICC ranking. The current format of the ICC Champions Trophy is Round – Robin and Knockout. India are the defending champions of the Champions Trophy. Here are some facts about the ICC Champions Trophy.

Most Runs and Most Ducks

When it comes to the most runs, Chris Gayle leads the chart with 791 runs for West Indies. While the former Australian all-rounder, Shane Watson has the most ducks in the ICC Champions Trophy with FOUR ducks.

ICC Knockout Cup

The ICC Champions Trophy was before known as ICC Knockout Cup. It had different format. Every match was a knockout match, no group stages. The format and name was later changed in 2002.

13 Nations Have Played ICC Champions Trophy

13 different cricketing nations have participated in the ICC Champions Trophy. Following are the nations which have played ICC Champions Trophy.

  1. Australia
  2. Bangladesh
  3. England
  4. New Zealand.
  5. Netherlands
  6. Pakistan
  7. United States
  8. Kenya
  9. Zimbabwe
  10. West Indies
  11. South Africa
  12. India
  13. Sri Lanka

One Final, Two Winners

The final of ICC Champions Trophy was played between India and Sri Lanka. Both teams were named the winners of the tournament as the match day was washed out because of heavy rain. It was for the first and so far the only time when an ICC major Trophy was shared.

Most Wickets

Kyle Mills of the New Zealand has the most wickets in the ICC Champions Trophy. The right arm medium kiwi has taken 28 wickets to top the chart of most wickets in ICC Champions Trophy.

Most Successful

Australia and India are the most successful teams so far in the ICC Champions Trophy. Both have won the title twice with Australia becoming the only team defending the title.

Only Trophy South Africa and New Zealand Have

ICC Champions Trophy is the only international trophy South Africa and New Zealand have won. They won it back when the tournament was called ICC Knockout Cup.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top