Champions Trophy 2017

ICC Champions Trophy – Top 10

  • Shoaib Malik is the only player among all players who are participating in ICC CT-17 to play the 6th Edition, It will be the 8th Edition overall.
  • The highest ever attendance in the Final of ICC Champions Trophy was in the 1st edition of ICC Knockout Tournament (Now called ICC Champions Trophy) hosted by Bangladesh in 1998.
  • England & Wales will host the tournament for 2nd time, while it will be 3rd time to be hosted by England, Wales wasn’t involved in 2004 edition.
  • The number of teams competing has varied over the years; originally all the ICC’s full members took part, and from 2000 to 2004 associate members were also involved. Since 2009, the tournament has only involved the eight highest-ranked ODI teams as of six months prior to the tournament.
  • No New Team has participated in ICC Champions Trophy Since the inclusion of USA in 2004 edition.
  • India & West Indies are the only teams to appear in three finals of ICC Champions Trophy.
  • Most runs in one edition & Most Wickets in one edition, both belongs to West Indies in 2006 edition when Chris Gayle Scored 474 runs & Jerome Taylor took 13 wickets. Surprisingly they haven’t qualified for the upcoming edition.
  • Only once the Final got washed out twice. The final between India and Sri Lanka was washed out twice to leave no result. First, Sri Lanka played 50 overs and then India played two overs before the rain caused interruption. The next day, Sri Lanka again played 50 overs and India played eight overs. In the end India and Sri Lanka were declared joint winners. The teams played 110 overs, but there was no result.
  • Only once the tournament was hosted by associate nation Kenya, back in year 2000.
  • India is scheduled to host the 2021 ICC Champions Trophy. However, it is uncertain if the tournament will take place. The ICC has proposed starting an ODI League in 2019. If the new league is introduced, the 2021 tournament may be cancelled.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top