ICC Awards 2017 Announced.

International Cricket Council (ICC), announced the names of the players who will be awarded with ICC Awards of 2017.

The King, Virat Kohli bagged the Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers trophy), ODI Cricketer of the Year.

The Indian Captain has been marvelous across all the formats. He had scored 2203 Test runs averaging 77.80, with eight tons to his name, 1818 ODI runs at an average of 82.63 including seven hundreds, and 299 T20i runs at a strike rate of 153.

“It means a lot to win to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for becoming the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2017 and also the ICC ODI Player of the Year,” He has also been named as the Captain of ICC ODI XI (2017) and ICC Test XI (2017).

Australian skipper, Steve Smith clinches Test Cricketer of the Year.

Steve Smith was vivid the whole year in term of his performance in Test cricket. He scored 1875 runs averaging 78.12 in 16 Test matches in the qualifying period, including eight astonishing hundreds and five half-centuries.

“It’s a great honor to win the Test Player of the Year award, he said, “It’s called Test cricket for a reason and I’m very humbled to win that award.”

T20 international Performance of the Year went in the hands of India’s Spinner, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Yuzvendra Chahal is no doubt a future prospect for Cricket India and he has proved it right by grabbing the ICC T20 international performance of the year award (2017). Last year, Chahal’s spell of 6 for 25 against India in Bangalore has been standardized by ICC as the best T20 performance.

Pakistan’s fast bowling sensation, Hasan Ali has been named ICC emerging player of the Year (2017).

The year 2017 turned out to be great for Hasan Ali. Playing an important role in Pakistan triumph of Champions Trophy, Becoming the no.1 ODI bowler and breaking Waqar Younis record of fastest Pakistani to 50 ODI wickets, Hasan Ali has been recognized the emerging player of the year by ICC. He has also found a spot in the ICC ODI XI (2017).

The rising star, Rashid Khan took away the ICC Associate Player of the Year Award.

Since his debut, Rashid Khan has been making his country proud and has shown a different and a positive side of Afghanistan. The talent in the country is immense and Rashid has proven it right. Rashid has picked 60 wickets in the period, the most by an associate player in a calendar year.

Marias Erasmus in the second year of string, was awarded the ICC umpire of the year.

Marias Erasmus joined the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires in 2010 and has officiated in 47 Tests, 74 ODIs and 26 T20s. He also officiated the historic ICC Champions Trophy 2017 Finale.

Ellyse Perry awarded with Cricketer of the Year (Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award)

Ellyse Perry declared as the ICC Cricketer of the Year award. Perry was exceptional in the 14 month period of the qualification. The all-rounder scored 905 runs and took 22 wickets in ODIs, She also played an Ashes Test, scoring an unbeaten knock of 213 and taking three wickets.

“This year has been a very special year for women’s cricket with many milestones reached, so it is a privilege and honor to receive the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award,” Perry stated.

The name of the ODI Player of the Award, Rachael Heyhoe Flint award was decided after the death of the great when she passed away in 2017.

Women’s ODI Cricketer of The Year (2017) was given to Amy Satterthwaite.

New Zealand’s Amy Satterthwaite was professed as the ODI Cricketer of the Year. She scored 1183 runs in 24 matches.

“It’s certainly a great honor and pretty humbling to be honest,” she said. “It’s also nice to take over the award from Suzie and keep it in New Zealand hands.”

It is the second year in a row that Satterthwaite was awarded with the ODI Player of the Year.

Australia’s Beth Mooney takes away the T20 Player of the Year award as well as the ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year Award.

Beth Mooney was outstanding in the Ashes series, continuing her hot form in T20 internationals for Australia, posting unbeaten scores of 86 and 117 in the T20Is. That made ICC to give away its emerging player of the year award and T20 player of the year award to Mooney.

Pakistan’s Champions Trophy triumph declared as ICC Fan Moment of the Year.

Pakistan’s inaugural ICC Champions Trophy title has been awarded as the Fan Moment of the Year by ICC. Defeating arch rivals India in the final, Pakistan won its first ever ICC Champions Trophy.

Anya Shrubsole wins the Spirit of Cricket award (2017).

Anya Shrubsole comforted South Africa’s skipper Dane van Nierkerk when South Africa was defeated by England in the semi-final of the Women World Cup. That gained her Spirit of Cricket award.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2017:

Dean Elgar (South Africa), David Warner(Australia), Virat Kohli (India, Captain), Steve Smith (Australia), Cheteshwar Pujara (India), Ben Stokes (England), Quinton de Kock (South Africa, Wicket Keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin (India), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), James Anderson (England).

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2017:

David Warner(Australia), Rohit Sharma (India), Virat Kohli (India, Captain), Babar Azam (Pakistan), AB de Villiers (South Africa), Quinton de Kock (South Africa, Wicket Keeper), Ben Stokes (England), Trent Boult (New Zealand), Hasan Ali (Pakistan), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Jasprit Bumrah (India) .

ICC Women ODI Team of the Year 2017: 

Tammy Beaumont (England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Mithali Raj (India), Amy Satterthwaite (New Zealand), Ellyse Perry (Australia), Heather Knight(England, Captain), Sarah Taylor (Wicket Keeper) (England), Dane van Niekerk (South Africa), Marizanne Kapp (South Africa), Ekta Bisht (India), Alex Hartley (England)

ICC Women T20 Team of the Year 2017:

Beth Mooney (Australia, Wicket Keeper), Danni Wyatt (England), Harmanpreet Kaur (India), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, Captain), Sophie Devine (New Zealand), Deandra Dottin (Windies), Hayley Matthews (Windies), Megan Schutt (Australia), Amanda-Jade Wellington (Australia), Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand), Ekta Bisht (India)


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top