Things that have made news in the PSL till yet

Things that have made news in the PSL till yet

The fifth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) that will entirely with every aspect take place in Pakistan this time is to be initiated from February 20th, 2020 when the league will kick-off its first match to be played between two times PSL winners, Islamabad United and trophy lifters of PSL 2018, Quetta Gladiators, after being followed by a stadium quacking or even country rocking opening ceremony.

Franchises have came up with a mutual concern that there could be some troubles for the them for proper travel arrangements one day prior to the ceremony or the match, so PCB have granted them the access so they could choose the players of their own will who will be attending the opening ceremony. Unluckily, many players are to miss the opening ceremony however, captain of every franchise would be present at NSK on February 20th, 2020.

Recently, it has been denounced that the replacement draft for PSL 5 will be held within the first week of February in place of the earlier announced draft. Teams have chosen and acquire the available opportunities wisely and available accordingly to the luck.

In addition, in the media chat, management of the PCB and PSL were asked whether they have plans to add up a new team or an alternate in further editions of the PSL, the project executive of the league responded negatively to the questions raised over adding teams to PSL saying no any such plan until we get handsome audience and tender league. It is to be noted that Multan Sultans were the last franchise that were added up in PSL 2018.

“The Pakistan Super League’s (PSL) shot callers currently have no plans of adding a seventh franchise to the fold,” the league’s project executive Shoaib Naveed was quoted as saying by Cricket Pakistan.

“Currently, we have no plans about adding another team in next edition of PSL.” He added.

Also, the updated squads of all six franchises have been denounced but, according to the sources, franchises can still make changes as per their requirements. Complete squads of all the PSL 2020 teams have been listed below:

Islamabad United’s squad for PSL 2020:

Shadab Khan (captain), Faheem Ashraf, Asif Ali, Luke Ronchi, Hussain Talat, Amad Butt, Musa Khan, Dale Steyn, Colin Ingram, Colin Munro, Rumman Raees, Rizwan Hussain, Phil Salt, Zafar Gohar, Akif Javed, Ahmed Safi Abdullah, Saif Badar, Rassie van der Dussen.

Karachi Kings squad for PSL 2020:

Imad Wasim (captain), Babar Azam, Mohammad Amir, Iftikhar Ahmed, Aamir Yamin, Usama Mir, Umer Khan, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Sharjeel Khan, Cameron Delport, Mohammad Rizwan, Umaid Asif, Dan Lawrence, Ali Khan, Arshad Iqbal, Liam Plunkett, Awais Zia.

Peshawar Zalmi’s squad for PSL 2020:

Darren Sammy (captain), Hasan Ali, Kieron Pollard, Wahab Riaz, Kamran Akmal, Imam-ul-Haq, Umar Amin, Tom Banton, Shoaib Malik, Liam Dawson, Mohammad Mohsin, Rahat Ali, Dwaine Pretorius, Adil Amin, Amir Khan, Aamir Ali, Liam Livingstone, Haider Ali.

Quetta Gladiators squad for PSl 2020:

Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Mohammad Nawaz, Shane Watson, Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Hasnain, Ahsan Ali, Naseem Shah, Jason Roy, Ben Cutting, Fawad Ahmed, Sohail Khan, Tymal Mills, Abdul Nasir, Arish Ali Khan, Azam Khan, Keemo Paul, Khurram Manzoor.

Lahore Qalandars squad for PSL 2020:

Sohail Akhtar (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Shaheen Shah Afridi, David Wiese, Usman Shinwari, Haris Rauf, Salman Butt, Chris Lynn, Samit Patel, Seekkuge Prasanna, Ben Dunk, Farzan Raja, Jaahid Ali, Muhammad Faizan, Lendl Simmons, Dilbar Hussain.

Multan Sultans squad for PSL 2020:

Shahid Afridi (captain), Mohammad Irfan, James Vince, Junaid Khan, Moeen Ali, Rilee Rossouw, Zeeshan Ashraf, Ravi Bopara, Sohail Tanvir, Shaan Masood, Ali Shafiq, Khushdil Shah, Usman Qadir, Fabian Allen, Mohammad Ilyas, Rohail Nazir, Imran Tahir, Bilawal Bhatti.

In other media chats that are taking place with regular intervals, owner of the last times PSL winners franchise, Quetta Gladiators, announced to retain Sarfaraz Ahmad as the skipper of the team as long as he plays, trusting his capabilities as a skipper. Another franchise that has won PSL winners title twice, Islamabad United, have declared Shadab Khan as the skipper of their franchise which has make the leggie the youngest captain in the history of PSL and the owner of the franchise, Ali Naqvi, is so much confident that they will challenge the trophy this time as well as they conclude the destructive squad.

For the better promotion of the league, PCB has also decided to create fan parks in those cities where matches are to be held. This will take place along the live screening in huge places such as shopping malls so, the PSL can possess a handsome audience and league will gain popularity to the exceptional extent. Another relevant announcement that PCB came up previously was about the TCS express centers of each city from where the audience can get the tickets as the sale have began and thousands of tickets have already been sold.

Fans were freaking awaited for the PSL 2020 anthem to be released. The song has passed out few days back and enthusiasts are disappointed after listening to “TAYYAR HAIN” preferring Ali Zafars’s anthems over it.

The franchises have also started working on signing contracts for paid promotions along publications rights. Every PSL franchise is trying comparatively better than each other and spending as much they can. Tower Sports and SportzWorks have also acquired publication rights for PSL 2020.

However, the most awaited league is to be initiated soon and it is to be noticed that Lahore Qalandars are to host the highest number of matches this time. Rawalpindi and Multan will hold equal and least number of matches at their home venue. Team Green wishes a very good luck to all the six franchises for this season of PSL.

Also Read:

PSL to play major role in convincing Australia to tour Pakistan


1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Things that made news in National Cricket today – Green Team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top