CWC 2019

New Zealand announced ‘CWC19’ squad in a different style

New Zealand became the first team to name their 15-man squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 – but it wasn’t at a staid press conference.

The squad was named on Wednesday, 3 April, morning at the Tai Tapu School on the outskirts of Christchurch. That school is the alma mater of Henry Nicholls, the left-hander, who is set to make his World Cup debut. It was a proud moment for him, and offered an inspiring lesson for the students.

Schoolchildren welcomed their special guests with a traditional ‘haka’. Two students then led the press conference, opening a “special school assembly” before David White, the New Zealand CEO, took over.

Great scenes following the CWC19 squad announcement at Tai Tapu School. Former pupil Henry Nicholls in hot demand. Photo: Blackcaps

New Zealand opted for experience in a 15-man squad named Wednesday for this year´s cricket World Cup, with rookie Tom Blundell´s inclusion as back-up wicketkeeper the only real surprise.

The Blacks Caps hope to shed their tag as valiant losers and claim the title after exiting in the semi-finals six times and suffering a heavy defeat to Australia in their only appearance in the final four years ago.

Coach Gary Stead said the Kane Williamson-led Black Caps had repeatedly proved itself at the top level and he was confident the consistency would shine through at the tournament in England and Wales.

“We´ve got a squad here of 15 players that we think can give us a really, really good chance of going far into the tournament,” he said.

“If we play close to our potential, then hopefully we can do New Zealand proud.”

Wellington keeper Blundell was selected after Tim Siefert, the regular back-up to first-choice gloveman Tom Latham, broke his finger in a domestic match last month.

While Blundell, who has two Test caps, will likely make his one-day international debut at the tournament, his role will be marginal if Latham stays fit.

Mitchell Santner will be the New Zealander´s primary spinner, with Ish Sodhi edging Todd Astle to claim the second slow bowling position.

The pace attack comprises Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson and Matt Henry, while Jimmy Neesham and Colin de Grandhomme add allround options.

Henry Nicholls is set to open the batting with veteran Martin Guptill after displacing Colin Munro at the top of the order, although Munro will make the trip as batting cover.

Williamson and Ross Taylor, in his fourth World Cup campaign, complete a battle-hardened batting line up. Williamson, Taylor and Guptill have collectively amassed 526 ODI appearances between them.

Taylor, who will be the seventh New Zealand player to play at four Cricket World Cups. Photo: Getty Images

Guptill and Taylor have not confirmed their post-tournament plans but will most likely be looking to exit cricket´s biggest stage on a high.The Black Caps will open their campaign against Sri Lanka in Cardiff on June 1.


1. Kane Williamson (capt), 2. Tom Blundell, 3. Ross Taylor 4. Trent Boult, 5. Colin de Grandhomme, 6. Lockie Ferguson, 7. Martin Guptill, 8. Matt Henry, 9. Tom Latham, 10. Colin Munro, 11. Jimmy Neesham, 12. Henry Nicholls, 13. Mitchell Santner, 14. Ish Sodhi, 15. Tim Southee,

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top