Squad Announcement

England name 15-man preliminary squad for Cricket World Cup

England have left out Jofra Archer from their squad of 15 for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 at home, going instead with the same set of players who featured in the one-day internationals against West Indies earlier this year.

The door, however, is not closed on Archer’s World Cup aspirations, he can still make it to the final squad in time for the first World Cup match on 30 May.

The pace options for the Eoin Morgan-led preliminary squad thus remain Liam Plunkett, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes, David Willey, Tom Curran and Ben Stokes.

Willey, although he was a part of the squad, did not feature in the ODIs against West Indies. However, the selectors have retained their faith in him and Joe Denly, who is a capable batsman and can serve as a back-up leg-spinner to Adil Rashid.

England’s batting has been their strength and there were few surprises as the selectors stuck to a tried and tested line-up. Jonny Bairstow, Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler make for a settled line-up. Rashid and Moeen Ali will be the main spinners, with Denly and Root’s part-time spin supporting them.

Alex Hales is England’s premier back-up ODI batsman was not in doubt. Who comes into the squad if he or one of the regular batsmen get injured is less clear cut. Plenty of the mainstays have been rested for England’s ODI against Ireland and T20I against Pakistan, with Sam Billings and James Vince both included and likely to play.

Sam Billings and James Vince will be competing against, as well as alongside, each other. Photo: Getty Images

England’s selectors clarified that the squad announced on Wednesday, 17 April, was a “preliminary” one, and that England would finalise their final 15-man World Cup squad after the five-match ODI series against Pakistan, which culminates on 19 May.

In line with ICC regulations, we have to name a preliminary squad of 15 for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup before April 23.

The exclusion of uncapped all-rounder Jofra Archer was the biggest talking point as host nation England announced their preliminary 15-man ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup squad.

Jofra Archer left out from England’s preliminary 15-man squad. Photo: Getty Images

Archer is likely to make his ODI debut for England against Ireland. “The selection panel has been impressed with Jofra Archer’s performances in domestic and franchise cricket. He is a very talented and exciting cricketer,” said Smith.

As for Jordan, who could play his first ODI since September 2016, the selector said, “Chris Jordan, a regular in T20I squads over the past few years, has continued to develop as a cricketer – as we saw in the T20Is in the West Indies. He fully deserves his return to the ODI squad.”

Sam Billings and Joe Vince will turn out against Ireland and in the T20I against Pakistan. Ali, Bairstow, Buttler, Stokes and Woakes have been rested for these two games.

England, the No.1 side on the ICC ODI Team Rankings, are among the favourites to lift the trophy at home. They begin their campaign against South Africa.

England squad:

Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top