PHF to initiate Pakistan Hockey League, says it might be the revival of Hockey in Pakistan.

As being the national game of Pakistan, hockey is not much popular among the citizens. Pakistan was considered to be the best team in past. Pakistan team has won world cup 4 times and hosted 1990 world cup too. There are many reasons for this downfall of hockey, beside that we have to support them no matter what.

PHF again decided to initiate PHL which was announced last year in February. Going back to last year, PHL first season had been announced in 2016, which was unfortunately postponed. Initially, it was decided that six teams will take part which includes Lahore, Karachi, Kashmir, Peshawar, Quetta and Islamabad. Last year, PHF expected alot of international players in the league.

Now, finally they decided to organise league this year and has started preparations to make it bigger and successful. According to sources, PHF set up a separate board to run this league as to focus more in this inaugural season. PHL contacted many former players to take part in the very first hockey league of Pakistan. They also contacted former PSL management as they are experienced. PHF also decided to visit European countries for the participation of foreign players. Khalid Sajjad Khokhar said, “We are vigorously making efforts to initiate our first pro league before the end of this year. And for that we’ve started to make contacts with players of different hockey playing nations, including Holland, Germany and Asian countries”. He also said that; “As soon as we get a noc from the FIH we’ll announce the exact dates of the league.”

The Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) has succeeded to approve a Rs200 million grant for the promotion of hockey league. Khokhar also added that there would be three categories of players – category A, B and C. “Players of category A will be offered around 1.5 million rupees, of B category around one million rupees and that of C category will get around 0.8 million rupees.”

Names which are decided uphill now are; Islamabad Royals, Peshawar Penguins, Quetta Markhors, Kashmir Warriors, Karachi Super Heroes and Lahore Lakers. 24 matches will be played in this league. Each team will play two matches against each team. It will be played in a double round-robin format and then playoffs.

It is decided to be held in three different cities of Pakistan – Faisalabad, Gojra and Lahore. The final of this tournament will also be held in National Hockey Stadium, Lahore.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top