MS Dhoni is well known for his lighting quick reflexes and when it comes to stumping dismissals, there are hardly any wicket-keepers in the world who can do it better than the former India skipper.
The veteran was at it once again during the second ODI encounter between India and New Zealand in Mount Maunganui when it dismissed Ross Taylor with a brilliant piece of stumping.
Chasing 325 to level the series, New Zealand were in a spot of bother when they lost Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson in the first powerplay. Colin Munro was soon back in the hut too when the spinners came on. And that left a lot of pressure on the in-form Ross Taylor and Tom Latham.
In the 18th over, Kedar Jadhav tricked Taylor with a flipper and his back foot went up in the air for a split second. Dhoni disturbed the stumps in a flash and although he was not quite sure about it, the third umpire gave the decision in his favour.
Kedar Jadhav pushing one through that didn’t turn, Taylor’s outside edge was beaten. As he had overbalanced ever so lightly, his back-foot was off the crease for just a brief moment.
A matter of milliseconds. And that’s all it took for Dhoni to whip the bails off. When he appeals to the leg umpire for a stumping, you know the batsman is in trouble more often than not and that’s exactly what happened.
Sab ko stump karega rey tera M S Dhoni #NZvIND
Don’t jump the line again! Mind it! Rascala 😂😂 pic.twitter.com/bZrXMCSiiv
— Desi Bhai | Kotler Awardee 🇮🇳 (@DesiPoliticks) January 26, 2019
Taylor would be feeling unlucky as this was not the first time he was on the recieving end of a Dhoni brilliance.
In October 2016, Dhoni ran Taylor out with a no-look effort at Ranchi. However, the Black Caps were on the winning end in that match as the visitors defeated India by 19 runs in the fourth ODI of the five-match series.
Saturday’s stumping was his 119th stumping in ODIs with Kumar Sangakkara (99) being the second most behind Dhoni. The 37-year-old now has 430 dismissals to his name. She has taken 311 catches and affecte 119 stumpins in his ODI career so far.
Twitter was full of tributes to Dhoni’s incredible wicket-keeping, and not for the first time.
Here are the best reactions:
— Mayur (@yeahokigetit) January 26, 2019
— M S D ❤ (@Vidyadhar_R) January 26, 2019
The fastest hands in the East conjure up another dismissal. #Dhoni. Game over, I should think.
— Harsha Bhogle (@bhogleharsha) January 26, 2019
Life may give you a second chance, but don’t expect a second chance from Dhoni ever, when it comes to his stumping.
— Keh Ke Peheno (@coolfunnytshirt) January 26, 2019
Beats the bat
Blink your eye
— Broken Cricket (@BrokenCricket) January 26, 2019
— Rajasthan Royals (@rajasthanroyals) January 26, 2019
— Monica (@monicas004) January 26, 2019
— Deep Dasgupta (@DeepDasgupta7) January 26, 2019