IND vs NZ 2019

New Zealand bring back ‘Big Guns’ for series against India

New Zealand have assembled their strongest possible line up for the one-day series against India starting next week in what will be their toughest workout ahead of the World Cup.

Tom Latham and Colin de Grandhomme, who were rested during the 3-0 sweep against Sri Lanka, were named Thursday in a 14-man squad for the first three games of the five-match series which starts next Wednesday.

Captain Kane Williamson and bowling spearhead Trent Boult, who sat out the T20 against Sri Lanka last Friday, are back in the squad as is Mitchell Santner who made the T20 after being sidelined by injury for 10 months.

India and New Zealand are ranked second and third in the world, and coach Gary Stead said the composition of the squad reflected World Cup planning while also giving themselves the best possible chance of winning the series against Virat Kohli’s tourists.

Our two main priorities have been to select and prepare a squad capable of winning what is shaping as a massive series against India, and gathering as much information as possible ahead of the World Cup,” Stead said.

“Tom and Colin are experienced players in this format and will offer quality in their respective roles.”

Kane Williamson’s team will take on Virat Kohli’s team in five one-day internationals starting Wednesday in Napier.

After beating Australia at their home in the Test and ODI series, India will be confident but will also look to improve certain areas before the ICC Cricket World Cup starting later this year.

Skipper Virat Kohli and Co. will expect New Zealand to be a much bigger challenge as compared to Australia since the home team are currently in rich vein of form. New Zealand recently blanked Sri Lanka at home, winning the Test and ODI series comfortably.

India will have to be a much better side overall, if they have any chance of beating the Kiwis in their own backyard.

The Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) announced the team for the ODI series against New Zealand on December 24, last year. Virat Kohli will lead the side while Rohit Sharma will be the vice captain of the team.

Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah has been rested for the ODI series against New Zealand after playing a key role in India’s historic Test triumph Down Under.

Another rookie paceman Siddarth Kaul will take Bumrah’s place in three Twenty20 internationals in New Zealand.

New Zealand ODI squad:

1. Kane Williamson (captain), 2Trent Boult, 3. Ross Taylor, 4. Doug Bracewell, 5. Colin de Grandhomme, 6. Lockie Ferguson, 7. Martin Guptill, 8. Matt Henry, 9. Tom Latham, 10. Colin Munro, 11. Henry Nicholls, 12. Mitchell Santner, 13. Ish Sodhi, 14. Tim Southee

Indian ODI squad:

1. Virat Kohli (Captain), 2. Rohit Sharma, 3. KL Rahul, 4. Shikhar Dhawan, 5. Ambati Rayudu, 6. Dinesh Karthik, 7. Kedar Jadhav, 8. MS Dhoni (WK), 9. Hardik Pandya, 10. Kuldeep Yadav, 11. Yuzvendra Chahal, 12. Ravindra Jadeja, 13. Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 14. Jasprit Bumrah, 15. Khaleel Ahmed, 16. Mohammed Shami

Schedule of ODI Series:

First ODI: January 23, McLean Park, Napier

Second ODI: January 26, Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

Third ODI: January 28, Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui

Fourth ODI: January 31, Seddon Park, Hamilton

Fifth ODI: February 03, Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top