Uncertainty is looming over an India vs Pakistan cricket conflict because the political warmth between the neighbouring nations continues to rise.
Earlier than the World Cup, there was a whole lot of clamour round India boycotting their match in opposition to Pakistan. BCCI had additionally approached the ICC to isoIate their arch-rivals.
Nonetheless, giving readability over the sequence of occasions, CoA chief Vinod Rai revealed what the BCCI thought, which was a response to the widespread public sentiments.
“There was a rhetoric built up over here that India should refuse to play with Pakistan. People were saying it, the media was reporting it. The media was not cooking it up. The media reports, picks up news from the ground,” Rai informed Indian Specific.
Committee of Administrators (CoA) chairman Vinod Rai has said that India will be willing to take on Pakistan at a neutral venue.
Supreme Court-appointed CoA is currently overseeing cricket administration in India. While speaking to Indian Express, the CoA chief said that he is not in favour of isoIating Pakistan in the cricketing world.
“On playing Pakistan, I think there is a government policy that you can play on neutral territory and not on each other’s,” said Rai. “We are very clear in our minds that on neutral territory we will play any country.”
Before the 2019 World Cup, Rai had said that Pakistan should be treated the way South Africa was treated during ‘Apar*heid’.
However, the 71-year-old backtracked on his statement and said that he only conveyed the nation sentiments at the time to the International Cricket Council (ICC).
“I was only taking a position to counter the rhetoric which had gained momentum in the public domain, that India should refuse to play with Pakistan,” he said.
“If Pakistan came up in the semi-final and we withdrew. Isn’t that sho*ting yourself in the foot? We would be closing avenues for ourselves, which I thought was an incorrect move.”
Rai also clarified the BCCI’s stance on the controversy related to the ‘insignia’ sign on India’s wicketkeeper-batsman MS Dhoni gloves during the World Cup.
“What he wore was not the insignia of his regiment. But he wore something and at least I did not know that the ICC had rules about what you can put on your gloves. I was taken by surprise,” he said.
“I said, look, if he is wearing it, he is free to wear it, and I supported him. Then I was shown 11 pages of ICC norms which say that you can only have your team’s insignia and that of the manufacturers. So we had to withdraw.”