South Africa News

Imran Tahir among trio to lose CSA contracts

Cricket South Africa has announced the Proteas Men’s squad and the Proteas Women’s squad players to be awarded national contracts for the 2019-20 season. 

The contracts cover the Protea men’s bilateral tours away to India in October and March, the full tour home series against England next summer, and the home white-ball series against Australia, as well as this year’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup.

Reeza Hendricks and Theunis de Bruyn were not previously awarded full national contracts, but were upgraded to full contracts after reaching the required thresholds during the course of the current season.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) have not renewed the contracts of frontline spinner Imran Tahir, and all-rounders J.P. Duminy and Chris Morris, for the 2019-20 season, the union announced on Friday.

Imran and Duminy are expected to be part of South Africa’s World Cup squad in England starting in late May, but that could well be their swansongs after being overlooked for central contracts.

Pakistan-born Imran will be 40 by the time the tournament is played, but remains a key part of the South African set-up and is regarded as one of the most effective spinners in limited-overs cricket.

Duminy has recently battled a shoulder injury and sat out the last five months, but returns to domestic action on Friday as he makes a bid for a World Cup place.

CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA – FEBRUARY 07: JP Duminy of South Africa during the 3rd Momentum ODI match between South Africa and India at PPC Newlands on February 07, 2018 in Cape Town, South Africa. (Photo by Shaun Roy/Gallo Images)

Morris has been inconsistent of late and has been overtaken by Andile Phehlukwayo and Wiaan Mulder for an all-rounder berth in the ODI squad.

Chris Morris. Photo: Getty Images

Batsman Hashim Amla, 35, has been retained despite poor form, which suggests he will play a role in the tours away to India in October 2019 and March 2020, the 2019-20 home series against England and the home limited overs fixtures against Australia scheduled for March next year.

Batsmen Reeza Hendricks and Theunis de Bruyn have been added to the list of contracted players.

CSA-contracted players: Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras), Temba Bavuma (Highveld Lions), Theunis de Bruyn (Titans), Quinton de Kock (Titans), Faf du Plessis (Titans), Dean Elgar (Titans), Reeza Hendricks (Highveld Lions), Keshav Maharaj (Dolphins), Aiden Markram (Titans), David Miller (Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Titans), Andile Phehlukwayo (Dolphins), Vernon Philander (Cape Cobras), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Tabraiz Shamsi (Titans), Dale Steyn (Titans).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top