PAK v NZ 2018

Pakistan Cricket Board announced squad for ODI series against New Zealand

Pakistan’s squad for the ODI series against New Zealand has been announced. The New Zealand vs Pakistan series 2018 will take place from November 7-11. The series comprises of three One Day Internationals (ODI) matches.

Imad Wasim makes a comeback while Nawaz is dropped. Surprisingly, Shan Masood has been left out without getting a game. He has been the best 50 overs player in Pakistan’s domestic cricket.

Mohammad Rizwan has not been considered for ODIs despite 1560 runs in his last 40 List A matches at an of average 62.40 and strike rate of 92.52 with five centuries (two of them in successful run chases against New Zealand A)

Another notable change is that Mohammad Amir has been dropped from ODIs as well.

Pakistan has played an ODI series in New Zealand 12 times since 1973. The results show that New Zealand has a definite edge over Pakistan on their home turf.

Pakistan has won only 2 out of the 12 series played in New Zealand. New Zealand have bagged 9 series wins whereas one series ended in a draw in 1995/96.

The last time Pakistan won an ODI series in New Zealand was in 2011 under the captaincy of Shahid Afridi. Misbah-ul-Haq was the top scorer for Pakistan in that series.

Overall 20 series have been played between two sides with New Zealand winning 12 and Pakistan 7.

Here’s the squad:

1. Fakhar Zaman

2. Mohammad Hafeez

3. Imam-ul-Haq

4. Babar Azam

5. Shoaib Malik

6. Asif Ali

7. Haris Sohail

8. Sarfraz Ahmed (c)

9. Shadab Khan

10. Imad Wasim

11. Faheem Ashraf

12. Hasan Ali

13. Junaid Khan

14. Shaheen Afridi

15. Usman Khan


07 November: 1st ODI international at Abu Dhabi, 04:00 pm (PKT)

09 November: 2nd ODI international at Abu Dhabi, 04:00 pm (PKT)

11 November: 3rd ODI international at Dubai, 04:00 pm (PKT)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top