PAK v SA 2021

PCB likely to make a lot of changes in Squad for T20I series against South Africa

Pakistan chief selector Mohammad Wasim will announce a T20I squad for the upcoming home series against South Africa at the end of the first test in Karachi.

The three T20I series between Pakistan and South Africa will be played in Lahore next month with matches being scheduled on 11th, 13th and 14th of February.

According to sources, Pakistan are likely to make a lot of changes in Squad and there’s going to be a lot of new names this time under the new chairman, especially those who have been doing well in the recent years. 

Leg spinner Zahid Mahmood is in line to be named in Pakistan’s T20I squad for the series against South Africa after it was confirmed that Shadab Khan will not be available for the three-match series.

Zahid Mahmood likely to be named in T20I squad against SA. Photo: PCB

National selection committee is “seriously considering” picking Sharjeel Khan, Azam Khan, Ammad Butt, Aamir Yameen and Zeeshan Malik for the upcoming T20I series against South Africa.

It is pertinent to mention here that Sharjeel has not played for Pakistan since 2017 due to his involvement in a spot-fixing scandal. Azam, meanwhile, has made his name over the past two years in T20 leagues but has never represented Pakistan.

The quartet are in contention for the places that could fall vacant as it looks difficult for Khushdil Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed and Abdullah Shafique to retain their positions.

Sources believe that Abdullah Shafiq, who was part of T20I squad that toured New Zealand, is unlikely to retain his place in the team. Wahab Riaz’s performance in New Zealand was also discussed among selectors.

Sources have confirmed that Pakistani selectors have had initial discussions on the composition of the team for the series. The squad is likely to be named at the end of the first Test in Karachi.

Earlier, South Africa have selected a much-changed squad as they rest leading players for T20 series against Pakistan. The squad will be captained for the first time by Heinrich Klaasen.

South Africa Squad:

Heinrich Klaasen (captain), Nandre Burger, Okuhle Cele, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, George Linde, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Ryan Rickleton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Jon-Jon Smuts, Pite van Biljon, Glenton Stuurman, Jacques Snyman

Series Schedule:

11 Feb – 1st T20I, Lahore

13 Feb – 2nd T20I, Lahore

14 Feb – 3rd T20I, Lahore

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top