Pakistan Domestic

Shadab, Saad replaces Imad, Babar as Captains

Pakistan Cricket Board who has already finalized the squads of all 6 teams now has replaced captains of two teams

Pakistan’s Domestic Cricket to begin from September 30 in Multan with the commencement of the National T20 Cup. 6 associations’ teams will participate in a double league tournament.

The Pakistan Cricket Board who has already finalized the squads of all 6 teams now has replaced captains of two teams.

Shadab Khan will captain Northern whereas Saad Nasim will lead Central Punjab in place of Imad Wasim and Babar Azam respectively in the first phase of the National T20 Cup that kicks off on September 30 in Multan.

The regular captains of both the sides are away in England, playing Vitality Blast, necessitating the need for stand-ins.

“Saad and Shadab will be leading the teams during the first phase of the Cup as the duo has already been announced as deputy to the announced skippers,” a PCB official said.

The official added that both skippers along with Shaheen Shah Afridi would not be available for the entire first phase. They would be expected to available for their teams in the second phase.

Babar Azam and Imad Wasim are currently playing Vitality Blast in England. Photo: Getty Images

Meanwhile, all the national team members who were on tour to England for Tests and T20s has joined their respective provincial teams.

All the participating players were tested for Covid-19 before joining their respective teams on September 26. These players will only join their teams in practice session once they are tested negative. The National T20 Cup will be the first domestic event following the postponement of the Pakistan Super League-V in March.”

Central Punjab Squad:

First XI – Babar Azam (captain), Saad Nasim (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafiq, Abid Ali, Ahmed Bashir, Bilal Asif, Ehsan Adil, Faheem Ashraf, Irfan Khan Niazi, Kamran Akmal (wicketkeeper), Naseem Shah, Qasim Akram, Rizwan Hussain, Sohaibullah, Usman Qadir and Zafar Gohar.

Player Support Personnel – Azhar Zaidi (manager), Shahid Anwar (head coach), Samiullah Niazi (assistant coach), Mohammad Asad (physio), Yasir Mahmood (trainer) and Sajid Yasin (analyst)

Northern Squad:

First XI – Imad Wasim (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Ali Imran, Asif Ali, Farzan Raja, Haider Ali, Hammad Azam, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Musa Khan, Rohail Nazir (wicketkeeper), Sohail Akhtar, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Amin and Zeeshan Malik

Player Support Personnel – Afaq Rahim (manager), Mohammad Wasim (head coach), Mohammad Masroor (assistant coach), Ali Sufyan (physio), Mohammad Aslam (trainer) and Mohammad Ahsan Ehsan (analyst)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top