Pakistan Domestic

Salman Butt refuses to play National T20 Cup

Salman Butt has parted ways with the National T20 Cup 2020 after he was eliminated from the first XI and offered to play in the second. He feels the franchise has demoted him thus, refrained himself of the tournament.

As the tournament is to be commenced on a double-league basis, the player was not chosen for the first XI. He was offered to get featured in the second XI on behalf of his experience, but he denied as he was demoted by Central Punjab.

The reason for not electing him in the first XI was his less featuring in the recent matches. In PSL 2020, he has signed in to a single game for third spotted Qalandars.

A PCB statement said: “Salman Butt, 36, was not selected in the first XI after he failed to feature in any of his side’s matches in the National T20 Cup 2019-20. In the HBL Pakistan Super League 2020, he has played only one game to date for Lahore Qalandars. However, considering his experience, he was offered to lead the second XI side, which he declined.”

Pakistan’s Domestic Cricket to begin from September 30 in Multan with the commencement of the National T20 Cup. 6 associations’ teams will participate in a double league tournament.

The first round of the tournament will be played at Multan Cricket Stadium, which has hosted 3 matches of the Pakistan Super League earlier this year. The crowd’s response to those games was excellent as all games were house-full.

Central Punjab Squad:

First XI – Babar Azam (captain), Saad Nasim (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafiq, Abid Ali, Ahmed Bashir, Bilal Asif, Ehsan Adil, Faheem Ashraf, Irfan Khan Niazi, Kamran Akmal (wicketkeeper), Naseem Shah, Qasim Akram, Rizwan Hussain, Sohaibullah, Usman Qadir and Zafar Gohar.

Player Support Personnel – Azhar Zaidi (manager), Shahid Anwar (head coach), Samiullah Niazi (assistant coach), Mohammad Asad (physio), Yasir Mahmood (trainer) and Sajid Yasin (analyst)

Second XI – Nauman Anwar (captain), Raza Ali Dar (vice-captain), Atiq-ur-Rehman, Aitzaz Habib Khan, Bilawal Iqbal, Fahad Usman, Junaid Ali, Kamran Afzal, Muhammad Akhlaq, Mohammad Ali, Mohammad Faiq, Mohammad Saad, Nisar Ahmad, Suleman Shafqat, Waqas Maqsood and Zubair Khan Lodhi

Player Support Personnel – Akram Raza (coach-cum-manager), Humayun Farhat (assistant coach), Arshad Javed (trainer), Ubaidullah (physio) and Mahmood Mohyuddin (analyst).


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top