Pakistan News

Chief Selector Mohammad Wasim revealed the reason behind exclusion of Imad Wasim

Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) Chief Selector Mohammad Wasim on Friday announced the Pakistan squad for the upcoming tours of South Africa and Zimbabwe in a press conference at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Karachi Kings captain Imad Wasim was dropped from squad for series against South Africa and Zimbabwe.

Pakistan Men’s Chief Selector Mohammad Wasim has revealed the reason behind the exclusion of all-rounder Imad Wasim from the upcoming tours of Zimbabwe and South Africa.

While speaking in a press conference, Wasim said that all-rounder Mohammad Nawaz is a more dynamic cricketer as compared to Imad which is why he was selected ahead of the latter.

“We have replaced Imad Wasim with Mohammad Nawaz keeping in mind the way he has performed. One thing that we saw missing in our side was bowlers who were able to bowl at different stages of the match, be it with the new ball or in the middle overs, and Nawaz is someone who can do that. The same applies to his batting as he can fit in at any slot considering the situation of the match,” said Wasim.

The all-rounder missed out on a place in the squads for the series against South Africa and Zimbabwe. (AP Photo/Rui Vieira)

He also advised Imad Wasim to root out the limitations from his game.

“We have seen some limitations in Imad’s game, which he needs to improve. In white-ball cricket, especially, you can’t be a limited cricketer and need to be ready for a given situation or conditions,” he said.

“When we compared the two, we saw Nawaz as the better option,” he concluded.

Pakistan will take part in three one-day internationals in South Africa, starting in Centurion on April 2. The other two matches are in Johannesburg (April 4) and Centurion (April 7). The teams will also play four Twenty20 internationals after the ODI series.

After the South Africa tour, the team will depart to Zimbabwe, where they will play two Tests and three T20Is against the Chevrons.

Pakistan’s T20I squad:

 Babar Azam, Shadab Khan, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Haider Ali, Danish Aziz, Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Mohamamad Wasim Jr, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Hasan Ali, Arshad Iqbal, Usman Qadir.

Pakistan’s ODI squad:

Babar Azam, Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Haider, Danish Aziz, Saud Shakil, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Shadab Khan, Mohammad, Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Hasan Ali, Usman Qadir.

Pakistan’s Test squad:

Babar Azam, Imran Butt, Abid Ali, Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Saud Shakeel, Agha Salman, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Tabish Khan, Hasan Ali, Shahnawaz Dahani, Nauman Ali, Zahid Mehmood, Sajid Khan.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top