Pakistan News

Davis Cup 2017

Pakistan is going to play last two matches of group II Asia/Oceania zone – Davis Cup today. Pakistan’s top seed Aisam ul Haq and Aqeel Khan will be in action against Thailand’s Wishaya Trongcharoenchaikul and Kittipong Wachiramanowong respectively in a single match competition. Pakistan is currently leading the group by 2-1. To win this stage in Group II, Pakistan have to win a single match whereas Thailand have to win two matches.

Back in February, Pakistan defeated Iran by 3-2 in 1st round and thus qualified for the 2nd round. In the 2nd round, Pakistan had to face Hong Kong but Hong Kong refused to play due to security concerns. Due to withdraw of Hong Kong, Pakistan was qualified to the 3rd round directly. Now, Pakistan is facing Thailand in the 3rd round.

Davis Cup comprises of three zones; Americas Zone, Asia/Oceania Zone and Europe/Africa Zone. Each zone is divided into three or four groups and  in each zones, four rounds have been played that is – play-offs, 1st round, 2nd round and 3rd round. Basically, it’s a world cup of tennis which has been played between the national teams of tennis. This whole tournament is organized by International Tennis Federation (ITF). This is the 106th edition of Davis Cup, it was started back in 1900. The most successful countries are;
* United States (winning 32 tournaments and runners-up 29 times)
* Australia (winning 28 times and runners-up 19 times).
The present champions are Argentina who beat Croatia to win the title for the first time in 2016.

Pakistan lies in the Asia/Oceania Zone.
Group I – Kazakhstan, India, China, Chinese Taipei, New Zealand, South Korea and Uzbekistan.
Chinese Taipei relegated to Group II in 2018 where as Kazakhstan and India advanced to World Group Play-off.
Group II – Pakistan, Thailand, Philippines, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Iran and Kuwait.
Vietnam and Kuwait relegated to Group III in 2018 where as Pakistan and Thailand promoted to Group I in 2018.
Group III – Jordan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Pacific Oceania, Qatar, Sri Lanka, Syria, Turkmenistan and United Arab Emirates.
Sri Lanka and Lebanon promoted to Group II in 2018 where as Turkmenistan and United Arab Emirates relegated to Group IV in 2018.
Group IV – Bahrain, Bangladesh, Cambodia, Iraq, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Myanmar, Oman, Saudi Arabia, Singapore and Tajikistan.
Cambodia and  Saudi Arabia promoted to Group III in 2018.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top