Pakistan News

PCB chairman election expected to be held on September 4

The election for the next chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is expected to be held on September 4, sources informed Geo News.

According to sources, the Election Commissioner for PCB Justice (retd) Syed Afzal Haider, who has taken charge as interim chairman of the board, has summoned a session to elect the new chief.

Former International Cricket Council chairman Ehsan Mani is expected to be elected as the next chairman of the PCB at the governing board’s meeting, sources added.

Last week, Imran Khan, the former Pakistan captain, was elected the country’s prime minister this month and appointed Mani to the post hours after Najam Sethi resigned from it on August 21. Mani staying in the post was dependent on an election process, but that remains a formality.

The prime minister is the patron of the board, and, as per its constitution, can change the PCB chairman if he so desires. Sethi is known to have a poor relationship with Imran Khan, meaning his position became untenable.

According to a notification, both the members have been nominated for three years.

A newly elected chairman will have a three-year term starting from the day he is elected. Apart from Mani, the prime minister had also put Asad Ali Khan on the BoG, as his second direct nominee, replacing the previous patron’s second nominee Arif Ejaz, who’d also resigned from the role.

On August 20, Najam Sethi resigned from his post as chairman, almost four years after he took over the reins of the cricket board and oversaw the return of international cricket to Pakistan.

Najam Sethi addresses the PCB’s Board of Governors PCB.

Sethi was nominated to the Board of Governors of the PCB (as per the Pakistan Cricket Board Constitution of 2014 approved by the ICC and Supreme Court of Pakistan) by ousted premier Nawaz Sharif from 2014-2017 and then again from 2017- 2020 by former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top