Pakistan News

PCB announces 16-member squad for England, Ireland series

(Photo: Anthony Devlin / PA / AP)

A sixteen member squad for Pakistan’s tour of England and Ireland was announced on Sunday. Chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq announced the squad members at a press conference.

Nine batsmen have been included in the squad to counter the difficult playing position in England while;

Fawad Alam has once again failed to find a place in the squad.

Azhar Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Fakar Zaman, Sami Aslam have been included in the squad as opening batsmen. Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Babar Azam, Saad Ali, Usman Salah have been added as middle order batsmen. Faheem Ashraf finds his place as an all-rounder in the squad while Shadab Khan has been included as a spinner.

The selection comes after players took part in a five-day fitness camp in Gaddafi stadium, overseen by coach Mickey Arthur, along with Inzamam and Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Najam Sethi.

The squad is expected to depart at the end of this month. 

Pakistan will begin their tour with a four-day warm-up match against county side Kent before taking on Ireland on April 11 in a one-off test match: the first-ever played by the Irish.

Pakistan will then return to England for a two-test series on may 24 and June 1, followed by two twenty20 internationals with Scotland.

Pakistan squad for tour of England and Ireland:

  • Sarfaraz Ahmed
  • Azhar Ali
  • Sami Aslam
  • Haris Sohail
  • Babar Azam
  • Fakhar Zaman
  • Inam-Ul-Haq
  • Asad Shafiq
  • Usman Salah
  • Shadab Khan
  • Muhammad Amir
  • Muhammad Abbas
  • Saad Ali
  • Hasan Ali
  • Faheem Ashraf
  • Rahat Ali
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top