Pakistan News

Imran Khan fulfilled another promise regarding Cricket in Pakistan

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced that its new constitution for 2019 has been approved and came into effect on August 19.

“The PCB received notification from the Ministry for Inter-Provincial Coordination, confirming the cabinet division’s approval of the new PCB Constitution 2019,” read a press release issued by the board.

The new constitution has split the office of the chairman and the chief executive. The managing director of the PCB has now been re-designated as the chief executive.

In the past, changes of government have always rung changes at the PCB because the prime minister has held absolute power with the board. This has made it difficult PCB’s ability to push through a long-term vision, with the board beholden to the desires of its incoming patron every few years. But the new constitution makes a significant change that eradicates the ability of the patron to dissolve the board of governors altogether.

According to new constitution, the country’s Prime Minister who is also the Patron in Chief of PCB has no power to dissolve the board or remove the chairman.

In the past, Imran Khan, who is the current Prime Minister of Pakistan and Patron in Chief of PCB promised to make PCB an independent and politics free association where there will be no political interference.

The patron’s role is now more narrowly worded in Clause 32.5, giving him only oversight authority and the ability to launch an audit if they believed financial mismanagement may have taken place at the board.

Imran Khan is the current Prime Minister of Pakistan and also the patron in chief of PCB. Photo: Facebook

As per Clause 49 (1), the existing BoG shall continue for a period until, at least, four members of the BoG are notified from amongst a pool of seven members (three Cricket Associations and four independent members).

The composition of the Board of Governors will eventually be as follows:

Three members being Presidents of the Cricket Associations (on rotation basis as per applicable regulations to be shared in due course), two members nominated by the Patron, four independent members, including at least one female member, Chief Executive of the PCB and Federal Secretary of the Ministry of IPC as ex-officio (non-voting) member.

16 regional cricket associations will be replaced by six cricket associations.

  • Balochistan Cricket Association
  • Central Punjab Cricket Association
  • Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Cricket Association
  • Northern Cricket Association
  • Sindh Cricket Association
  • Southern Punjab Cricket Association

District Cricket Associations will be replaced by City Cricket Associations.

Imran Khan wants provincial teams to form the core of domestic cricket in Pakistan. Photo: Getty Images

Both Cricket Associations and City Cricket Associations shall be governed in accordance with their respective model constitutions, which will be approved by the BoG.

Cricket Associations will be sharing more responsibility and providing a forum for City Cricket Associations to pursue better and effective regulations and governance of cricket within their respective jurisdiction.

The General Body will comprise eleven members, including: PCB Chairman, President of each Cricket Association, President of the Blind Cricket Council, President of Deaf and Dumb Cricket Association and Chief Executive Officer and Chief Operating Officer are the ex-officio members.

To strengthen governance structures, Clause 12 (c) has been added, which requires the Board to implement best corporate governance practices that promote ethical culture in the Board, while  Nominations, HR & Remuneration, and Risk Management Committees have been introduced through Clause 12 (h).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top