Pakistan News

PCB named 25 Members Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Pakistan Cricket Board on Wednesday named 25 Members Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup-2019. Final 15 members squad will be picked From these 25 players.

Wahab Riaz, Kamran Akmal, Umer Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad and Salman Butt are out of preliminary squad of World Cup.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, which will be staged in England and Wales from 30 May to 14 July.

England will open the tournament at The Oval on 30 May when they will take on South Africa, while Australia will launch their title defence on 1 June against the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier champions Afghanistan in a day/night match in Bristol.

  • England and South Africa will compete in the tournament opener at The Oval.
  • The Oval to host the tournament opener between England and South Africa on 30 May
  • Old Trafford and Edgbaston to stage the two semi-finals on 9 and 11 July respectively; Lord’s to host the final on 14 July

Reigning ICC Champions Trophy winners and former champions Pakistan will start their campaign against the ICC World Twenty20 winners and two-time former champions the Windies at Trent Bridge in Nottingham on 31 May.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 schedule. Photo: ICC

India, the 1983 and 2011 world champions who also won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013 in England and Wales, will play their first match on 5 June against South Africa at the Hampshire Bowl in Southampton. Their feature match against traditional rivals Pakistan will be at Old Trafford in Manchester on 16 June.

Old Trafford in Manchester and Edgbaston in Birmingham will stage the two semi-finals on 9 and 11 July, while Lord’s will play host to a World Cup final for the fifth time, on 14 July. All these three matches will have reserve days.

Eleven world-class venues will be used in the 46-day tournament in which each side will play the other once in a single-league format with the top four sides after 45 matches progressing to the semi-finals.

Old Trafford in Manchester will host maximum six matches, while Edgbaston in Birmingham, Hampshire Bowl in Southampton, Lord’s and The Oval (both in London), and Trent Bridge in Nottingham will stage five matches each.

Cardiff Wales Stadium in Cardiff and Headingley in Leeds have been allocated four matches each and County Ground Bristol in Bristol, County Ground Taunton in Taunton and The Riverside in Chester-le-Street have got three matches each.

There are some fantastic head-to-head fixtures – England v Australia at Lord’s and India v Pakistan at Old Trafford as well as England v India at Edgbaston spring to mind.

India and Pakistan will face off on 16 June at Old Trafford. Photo: ICC

The Cricket World Cup is the third most watched global event and has huge interest and appeal amongst cricket fans. 

Pakistan 25 member squad:

1. Sarfaraz Ahmed 2. Shan Masood 3. Fakhar Zaman 4. Imam Ul Haq 5. Abid Ali 6. Babar Azam 7. Shoaib Malik 8. Muhammad Rizwan 9. Muhammad Hafeez 10. Muhammad Amir 11. Muhammad Abbas 12. Asif Ali 13. Shadab Khan 14. Hasan Ali 15. Junaid Khan 16. Shaheen Shah Afridi 17. Usman Khan Shinwari 18. Yasir Shah 19. Hussain Talat 20. Faheem Ashraf 21. Mir Hamza 22. Imad Wasim 23. Waqas Maqsood 24. Haris Sohail 25. Rumman Raees

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top