Pakistan Domestic

Why gave the award to Rizwan? Kamran Akmal lashes out at PCB

Central Punjab’s wicketkeeper-batsman Kamran Akmal is unhappy with the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), according to sources, for giving the best wicketkeeper award of the National T20 Cup to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa’s Mohammad Rizwan.

Kamran Akmal who is reportedly angry on this decision has also written about it to the Pakistan Cricket Board.

Akmal bagged the most number (11) of dismissals behind the stumps, eight catches and three stumpings, but the award was given to Rizwan with eight victims, who claimed six catches and two stumpings.

Mohammad Rizwan’s stunning catch in the ongoing Pakistan’s National T20 Cup has surprised everyone as even ICC called him ‘Mohammad Rizwan x Superman.

The PCB’s officials fielding stats for the tournament also included Rizwan’s four catches as an outfielder in his total number of dismissals, which is against normal practice as, both, wicketkeeping and outfield victims are calculated separately.

PCB’s Media Manager Domestic Cricket, Ahsan Nagi, when approached on the matter, stated that Rizwan was given the award because “He was instrumental in his team’s victories, both, as a regular fielder and wicketkeeper”.

The player awards were decided as per points system developed by the National High Performance Centre. Before the start of the tournament, Mr Nadeem Khan, Director High Performance Centre of PCB had already informed that the awards for best performers will not be awarded on the basis of stats, the impact on the team’s victory will also be kept in mind

“Also, Rizwan’s impact, on basis of points system, solely as a wicketkeeper was 0.8 which is better as compared to Kamran Akamal’s 1.1,” Nagi added.

Few days ago, Kamran Akmal became the first wicketkeeper in T20 cricket to record 100 stumpings.

“The first wicketkeeper to record 100 stumpings in T20 cricket, congratulations Kamran Akmal on a wonderful achievement,” posted PCB after the former Pakistan Team’s wicketkeeper achieved the feat.

Akmal achieved the milestone after stumping Shan Masood in the ongoing National T20 Cup in Rawalpindi. The wicket-taking delivery was was bowled by left-arm spinner Zafar Gohar.

The Lahore-born is followed by India’s MS Dhoni who has 84 stumpings to his name whereas former Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara is at the third spot with 60.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Why gave the award to Rizwan? Kamran Akmal lashes out at PCB – 5 Star Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top