PSL News

List of Islamabad United players with their nicknames and hashtags as used by franchise

Islamabad United is easily the most successful franchise of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) with two titles to their name after three seasons. United won the inaugural edition of the league in 2016 and then backed it up with another title in 2018.

In their only other season, where they did not win the title, United finished fourth on the table and lost to Karachi Kings in the eliminator.

United have notched up 20 victories out of a total of 32 matches in the first three editions of the league, while ending up on the losing side on 12 occasions.

With a nice blend of youth and experience, United will once again look to put their best foot forward in the upcoming season of PSL.

Usually, the teams participating in different tournaments have names of their players printed on the back of their respective T-shirts. But Pakistan Super League franchise Islamabad United wanted to do something different.

Instead of their names, United players have their very own nicknames as hashtags which, according to team manager Rehan ul Haq, allows the team to develop a bond.

The nicknames and hashtags of Islamabad United are also used by fans on various social media forums to refer to the players.

The most successful nicknames have been #Prince (Rumman Raees) and #Mastana (Zafar). So is #Patakha (Sahibzada Farhan).


Here’s the complete list of players with their nicknames and hashtags as used by Islamabad United:

Luke Ronchi #Shikari

Faheem Ashraf #Yoyo

Shadab Khan #Superstar

Ian Bell RHB #Thand

Asif Ali #Laparu

Mohammad Sami #Bullet

Rumman Raees #Prince

Samit Patel #Pehalwan

Phil Salt #Tarka

Hussain Talat #Shahzada

Zafar Gohar #Mastana

Sahibzada Farhan #Patakha

Waqas Maqsood #Chalbaaz

Cameron Delport #Shikra

Ammad Butt #SixPack

Nasir Nawaz #Janbaaz

Muhammad Musa #Raftaar

Wayne Parnell #Brother

Zahir Khan #Paheli

Rizwan Hussain #Cheetah


Dean Jones Deano #TheSuit

Eroll Alcott #MiracleMan

Darren Berry #Chuck

Waqar Younis #ToeCrusher

Saeed Ajmal #Jadugar

Sardar Rehan ul Haq #SillyPoint

Hassan Cheema #FineLeg

Dean A Woodford #FitDeano

Athul Rao #ScienceDan

Ismail KP #Jugaru

(TBC) Integrity Officer #Sirjee

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top