PSL News

Pakistan Super League ‘Player Category Renewal’ list revealed

Pakistan Super League (PSL) fans are in for a very exciting month as the trade and retention window for this year has now officially commenced.

Player categories for all those local players who were included in team rosters for PSL season 3 have now been updated. The process of category renewals took place in the presence of cricket representatives from all six teams.

The list of all such local players who were not involved with any squad during PSL season 3 shall be released separately once finalised by the National Selection Committee.

Each PSL squad of 16 comprises three Platinum, three Diamond, three Gold, five Silver and two Emerging players. Teams are allowed to retain a maximum of 10 players going into this year’s Draft.

As was the case last year, teams reserve the right to float relegation requests for their players before finalising retentions. After a relegation request is floated, all other teams will be given a chance to meet the player’s base category. If no team matches the player’s base category, the player will be relegated to a category below his base category and retained by the franchise. Relegation requests will only be floated after obtaining player consent.

Sarfraz Ahmed, Fakhar Zaman, Misbahul Haq, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Hafeez and Kamran Akmal were placed in Platinum category as refereed by their respective franchises.

Meanwhile, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Sami, Rumman Raees, Asif Ali, Imad Wasim, Usman Shinwari, Sohail Tanvir, Junaid Khan and Mohammad Nawaz were named in Diamond category.

The Gold category will consist of Bilal Asif, Sohail Khan, Aamir Yamin, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Raza Hasan, Bilawal Bhatti, Hussain Talat, Mohammad Rizwan, Khurram Manzoor, Zulfiqar Babar, Mukhtar Ahmed, Ahmed Shehzad, Sohaib Maqsood, Mohammad Abbas, Shan Masood, Umar Gul, Mohammad Asghar, Haris Sohail , Asad Shafiq, Rahat Ali, Umar Amin, Anwar Ali and Hasan Khan.

Sohail Akhtar, Agha Salman, Gulraiz Sadaf, Salman Irshad, Imran Khan (JR.), Ahmed Butt, Zafar Gohar, Sahibzada Farhan, Mohammad Hasan, Waqas Maqsood, Usama Mir, Tabish Khan, Mohammad Irfan (JR.), Saifullah Bangash, Danish Aziz, Kashif Bhatti, Mohammad Irfan Khan, Saif Badar, Usman Siddiq, Umaid Asif, Hammad Azam, Saad Nasim, Taimor Sultan, Khalid Usman, Khushdil Shah, Ramiz Raja (JR.), Saad Ali, Mir Hamza, Saud Shakeel and Faraz Ahmed Khan were placed in the Silver category.

The Emerging category includes Mohammad Azam Khan, Mohammad Junaid, Shameen Gul, Ibtisam Shaikh, Mohammad Arif, Abdullah Shafiq, Hasan Mohsin, Mohammad Taha, Rohail Nazir, Mushtaq Ahmed Kalhoro, Mohammad Hussain and Ghulam Mudasir.

Updated categories for players who took part in PSL 2018 are now out.

Pakistan Super League returns to action on February 14, 2019.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top