PSL Special

Journey of Peshawar Zalmi till season six of Pakistan Super League

PSL is a league that holds immense importance for the people belonging to Pakistan. Not only the league itself but the teams also have vast numbers of fan followings. Let’s go through all the significant aspects of Peshawar Zalmi. It represents the province Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and is owned by Javed Afridi – a renowned businessman. Wahab Riaz is the current captain, Darren Sammy a former captain has been given the honor of being head coach & Muhammad Akram is the team director. The home ground for this team is Arbab Niaz Stadium. Moreover Very well-known celebrities have been the brand ambassadors of this team such as Gul Panra, Mahira Khan, Sana Javed, and Hamza Ali Abbasi. They are also prominent for releasing anthems in both Urdu and Pashto. Zalmi has the honor of being the crowned the champion of this tournament once. It’s time to rewind to 2016 and relive their performances in all seasons.

Season 1

2016 was a pretty good start for the Zalmi team. They won the first two group matches. Later suffered a defeat at the hands of Quetta Gladiators but regained their strength and crushed the other teams in 6 out of 8 group matches. This made them earn their way to the playoffs. Had a very exhilarating contest with the gladiators but were unlucky and lost the match. Being the toppers they had a second chance but failed to avail it too which lead to their elimination.

Season 2

Zalmi lost the first game of the season which was against Quetta. After that, they overpowered Karachi Kings and Lahore qalandars. The match against the qalandars was quite a shocker as even the target of 59 became quite difficult to accomplish but Zalmi was able to cross the line and win that thriller. Next, the Zalmis had to share points with Quetta due to the match being abandoned. Next, they were beaten by both united and kings. The Sharjah leg didn’t prove very fortunate for them. When the matches moved back to Dubai, the Zalmis were in the mood of some carnage. They won consecutive matches against qalandars and gladiators. Match against Quetta witnessed Shahid Afridi’s heroics. Then came the playoffs, Peshawar once again lost to the gladiators by one run. In qualifier two, they defeated Karachi kings which made them earn a well-deserved place in the final. It was the perfect place and time to take revenge on the two playoffs which were snatched from the Zalmi by Quetta. Peshawar didn’t let down their fans in the final. Quetta fell short when chasing the target and Zalmi won their only and first-ever title.

Peshawar Zalmi have won their only title in the HBL PSL tournament in 2017, led by Darren Sammy. (Photo: PCB)

Season 3

Zalmi was the defending champions this year but they lost the first match against Multan Sultans which was the new edition to PSL. They recovered quickly and defeated united but this form lasted for only one match as they lost against the kings in the upcoming contest. The next match was against the team that gave them quite a tough completion all the seasons – the gladiators. As usual it was quite an attention-grabbing game but ended in Zalmi’s favor. The match was won by the injured Darren Sammy who scored 16 runs from four balls. Following this, Peshawar beat Lahore very comfortably as they conquered them in every department. Now was the final of season 3 and the second final for Zalmi but unluckily they couldn’t defend their title and lost to Islamabad United by three wickets.

Season 4

Peshawar Zalmi was in quite some form in this season. Out of 10 games, they were able to win seven. They became the table-toppers because of their high run rate. In the qualifier, they lost to Quetta but won the eliminator and made their way into the final. Once again they couldn’t go over the line and lost the final against gladiators. They ended up as runners up for the second time.

Season 5

Zalmi had a record of being in the final for continuous last three years and this season was the first time they couldn’t do that. Their current captain Darren Sammy was injured, Wahab Riaz was named as the new caption. They reached the playoffs but Lahore kicked them out of the tournament and Peshawar failed to qualify for the final.

Wish them the very best of luck for season 6.

See their schedule of PSL 6: Peshawar Zalmi complete schedule

You can also check out their squad for PSL 6: PSL 2021: List of retained, released players by all franchises

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top