Pakistan News

Salman Butt is getting trashed again in International Media

Mankad incident turns close finish controversial

WAPDA needed four runs to win, with more than 78 overs left in the day. Peshawar needed one wicket. Three days of cricket and here we were, the game delicately poised. And then Peshawar fast bowler Taj Wali decided to mankad the non-striker Mohammad Irfan – who had casually taken a step out from the popping crease while the bowler was about to deliver. Following the law, the umpire had no option but to give Irfan out once the bowler appealed – a close finish in this season’s Quaid-e-Azam Trophy made controversial.

Also Read: Kohli says Amir is the toughest bowler he’s faced and people are going crazy

Ahmed Shahab and Faisal Afridi, the on-field umpires, consulted after the incident, and asked the fielding side if they wanted to rethink their appeal. They didn’t, and Peshawar won by three runs – a rare win for a regional side over a department one, and, in this case, no less than the tournament’s defending champions.

WAPDA’s captain Salman Butt questioned the spirit of the act.

“What’s the point of this law when the winning team isn’t proud and ashamed instead?” Butt told ESPNcricinfo. “We had a great game, fully competitive throughout four days, which saw both teams’ fortunes fluctuate. And suddenly this mankading spoiled it. Sportsman spirit should have been the top priority but the game didn’t end in a proper way. What’s the point of this law when the opponent team despite winning apologises to us?”

According to the ICC playing regulations, mirrored in Pakistan domestic cricket, the dismissal was clearly fair. “The bowler is permitted, before releasing the ball and provided he has not completed his usual delivery swing, to attempt to run out the non-striker. Whether the attempt is successful or not, the ball shall not count as one of the over. If the bowler fails in an attempt to run out the non-striker, the umpire shall call and signal dead ball as soon as possible.”

Also Watch: Afghan woman leaked video of Imad, after he branded the pictures forged.

But Twist came when a famous cricket writer Jarod Kimber bashed Salman Butt in his tweet by saying that, “Salman Butt is upset at a mankad. He thinks it is against the spirit of the game. Hahahahahhahahahahhahahhshhahahaha” tweeted Jarod Kimber.

In another tweet Jarod Kimber asked Salman Butt to Stop his players from breaking the laws of cricket.

What is Law 41.16??

If the non-striker is out of his ground from the moment the ball comes into play to the instant when the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, the bowler is permitted to attempt to run him/her out. Whether the attempt is successful or not, the ball shall not count as one in the over. If the bowler fails in an attempt to run out the non-striker, the umpire shall call and signal Dead ball as soon as possible.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top