PSL 2019

Sarfraz Ahmed barred from holding press conference in Karachi

Pakistan cricket team and Quetta Gladiators captain Sarfaraz Ahmed was not allowed to go ahead with his scheduled press conference yesterday. (Saturday).

Sarfraz was scheduled to address a press conference in Karachi’s National Stadium at 4pm, however, the Pakistan Cricket Board asked him to record a message instead.

The press conference of the Gladiators skipper was scheduled as part of pressers held by captains of the franchises of the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

It is believed that the Sarfaraz was not allowed to hold the press conference as he would be questioned about being rested for the one-day international (ODI) series against Australia.

It is being anticipated that the media could have raised certain questions regarding his exclusion from the one-day international (ODI) series against Australia.

Meanwhile, Gladiators’ coach Moeen Khan in a press conference, told the journalists that the franchise asked Sarfraz to not hold the presser as it can become a source of contention.

“There was no pressure from the PCB,” said Khan.

Top-ranked Quetta Gladiators, who are already through to the playoffs, will face Karachi Kings at the National Stadium today.

The match will be played at the National Stadium Karachi at 07:00 PM (PST). Cricket enthusiasts are overjoyed by the arrival of the PSL in Pakistan.

Pakistan has named a 16-member squad for the five-match ODI series against Australia starting March 22 in Dubai.

The selectors have rested six players from the squad that lost 2-3 to South Africa earlier this year. They include skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Shadab Khan and Shaheen Shah Afridi, while Hussain Talat has been dropped and Mohammad Hafeez was not considered as he is recovering from a thumb surgery.

Shoaib Malik will lead the side in Sarfaraz’s absence.


  1. Shoaib Malik (captain)
  2. Abid Ali
  3. Faheem Ashraf
  4. Haris Sohail
  5. Imad Wasim
  6. Imam-ul-Haq
  7. Junaid Khan
  8. Mohammad Abbas
  9. Mohammad Amir
  10. Mohammad Hasnain
  11. Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper)
  12. Saad Ali
  13. Shan Masood
  14. Umar Akmal
  15. Usman Shinwari
  16. Yasir Shah
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top