AUS v IND 2020

Australia suffered a huge blow ahead of 1st Test against India

Australia opening batsman David Warner has been ruled out of next week’s series-opening Test against India in Adelaide and will target a return for the second Boxing Day Test in Melbourne, Cricket Australia (CA) said on Wednesday.

Warner, who injured his adductor muscle during the second one-day international against India, will remain in Sydney to continue his rehabilitation while the majority of the Australia squad travel to Adelaide on Wednesday, CA said in a statement.

Australia opener David Warner hopeful of a Boxing Day return but has been officially scrubbed from the Adelaide day-night Test with a groin injury. Photo: Cricket Australia

“I feel I have made great progress in a short amount of time and it’s best for me to stay here in Sydney to continue working on getting back to full fitness,” Warner said in the statement.

“The injury feels a lot better, but I need to be able to satisfy in my own mind and to my team mates that it is 100 percent ready for test match conditions.

“That includes running between the wickets and being agile in the field. Right now I feel I am short of being able to play at peak fitness and another 10 days will make a difference.”

Warner’s absence is a major blow for Australia, who lose one of their best batsman and a player who has been a rock at the top of the order for most of a decade.

Australia’s opening problems have been compounded by injury to Warner’s likely replacement Will Pucovski, who retired hurt during the tour match against India A on Tuesday after being struck in the helmet by a bouncer.

Joe Burns, Warner’s opening partner in the last home summer, has also been in dire form, and scored a total of four runs from his two innings against India A in the tour match in Sydney.

The pink ball first Test starts at Adelaide Oval on December 17, with further tests in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane.

Vodafone Test Series v India 2020-21

Australia Test squad: Tim Paine (c), Sean Abbott, Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner

India Test squad: Virat Kohli (c) (first Test only), Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Rishabh Pant (wk), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Siraj

First Test: December 17-21, Adelaide Oval

Second Test: December 26-30, MCG

Third Test: January 7-11, SCG

Fourth Test: January 15-19, Gabba

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top