Match Preview

1st Test: Australia vs India – Playing XI, Team News, Timing, Pitch Report, Weather Report

The first Test of the much anticipated Border-Gavaskar Trophy is ready to get underway at Adelaide Oval from Thursday (December 17).

The contest will be a Day-Night encounter to be played with the pink ball. It will be the second pink-ball Test for India. They have earlier played a similar fixture against Bangladesh and won the match.

Australia, on the other hand, have beaten New Zealand, South Africa, England and Pakistan in day-night matches.

Match Details:

Date: Thursday November 05, 2019

Timing: 04:00 AM PKT

Venue: Adelaide

Weather: There may be a passing shower or two, rain shouldn’t have too much of a say in the Test match.

Conditions / Pitch Report: The wicket at Adelaide offers assistance for batsmen, as in general seamers don’t get enough movement off of the pitch. The role of spinners becomes crucial, mostly on days four and five.

Head to Head:

Matches: 98 | Australia: 42 | India: 28 | Draw: 27 | NR: 1

Form Guide:

Australia: W W W W W (completed matches, most recent first)

India: L L W W W

Team News:

1. Australia

Without David Warner, Australia look a little light at the top. Australian skipper Tim Paine has hinted that Matthew Wade might open in the game along with Joe Burns.

Australia head coach Justin Langer made it clear that young all-rounder Cameron Green will make his Test debut in Adelaide.

Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, and skipper Paine should be part of the middle order.

The pace department will be managed by the trio of Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and Josh Hazlewood, with Nathan Lyon as the lone specialist spinner.

Australia’s Probable XI:

1. Joe Burns, 2. Matthew Wade, 3. Marnus Labuschagne, 4. Steven Smith, 5. Travis Head, 6. Cameron Green, 7. Tim Paine (capt & wk), 8. Pat Cummins, 9. Mitchell Starc, 10. Josh Hazlewood, 11. Nathan Lyon

2. India

The visitors have already revealed their playing XI ahead of the mega Test. Prithvi Shaw has been picked over Shubman Gill to open the batting with Mayank Agarwal.

Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli and Ajinkya Rahane complete the middle-order. While the talented Hanuma Vihari fills the No. 6 slot.

Skipper Kohli has decided to go with Wriddhiman Saha over Rishabh Pant as the wicket-keeper batsman for the first Test. Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav and Jasprit Bumrah have been selected as the frontline pacers, while Ravichandran Ashwin will play as the lone spinner.

India’s XI:

1. Mayank Agarwal, 2. Prithvi Shaw, 3. Cheteshwar Pujara, 4. Virat Kohli (capt), 5. Ajinkya Rahane, 6. Hanuma Vihari, 7. Wriddhiman Saha (wk), 8. R Ashwin, 9. Umesh Yadav, 10. Mohammed Shami, 11. Jasprit Bumrah

Stats and Travia:

  • Mitchell Starc averages 19.23 in day-night Test cricket, with a strike rate of 35.6. He has 42 wickets – 17% of his overall tally – from seven matches and is a clear and present danger to anyone with a bat in hand.
  • While Australia will be playing their eighth day-night Test – and they’ve never lost one of these things – India will be playing only their second having only been introduced to the format last year.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top