Match Report

Australia thrash India by 66 runs in first ODI at Sydney

Photo: DAVID GRAY / AFP via Getty Images

Australia 6 for 374 (Finch 114, Smith 105, Warner 69, Maxwell 45, Shami 3-59) beat India 8 for 308 (Pandya 90, Dhawan 74, Zampa 4-54, Hazlewood 3-55) by 66 runs

Australia has comprehensively defeated India by 66 runs in the first ODI of the three-match series at Sydney Cricket Ground.

Set to chase 375, India managed to score 308/8 in fifty overs. Hardik Pandya and Shikhar Dhawan tried their best but fall short in front of a massive Australian score.

Pandya scored 90 off 76 balls, powered by four sixes and seven fours while Dhawan made 74 off 86 which included ten fours. Captain Virat Kohli managed to score 21 runs only.

Leg-spinner Adam Zampa was the pick of the bowlers as he picked four wickets for 54 while Josh Hazlewood gave early breakthroughs which led India to struggle from the start of the massive chase. He finished with figures of 3/53.

Earlier, Skipper Aaron Finch and Steve Smith smashed centuries as Australia set India a daunting target. They a massive 374 for six after winning the toss.

Finch and David Warner provided a perfect opening start of 156. Warner scored 69 off 75 balls while Finch registered his 17th ODI ton, scoring 114 off 124 balls.

‘Smudge’ Smith went on to score the third-fastest ton by an Australian batsman in ODI cricket. He scored 105 off 66 balls, powered by four sixes and 11 fours.

Glenn Maxwell also joined the party as he raced away to 45 in just 19 balls. Marnus Labuschagne only lasted two balls before holing out to Dhawan. Alex Carey was unbeaten on 17.

For India, Yuzvendra Chahal conceded the most runs by an Indian spinner in ODI cricket. He gave away 81 runs in 10 overs with one wicket to his name.

Mohammad Shami was the pick of the bowlers, claiming three for 59 while Jasprit Bumrah and Navdeep Saini also picked one each.

The 31-year-old Smith was awarded player of the match for his brilliant knock.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top