AUS v PAK 2019

Cricket Australia announced squad for ODI series against Pakistan in UAE

Cricket Australia has announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming ODI series against Pakistan in UAE, which will start in Sharjah on 22 March.

Australia today named an unchanged squad from the original 15-man group that travelled to India last month, with right-arm fast bowler Kane Richardson set to return for the five-match series in the UAE despite a recent side injury.

Former captain Steve Smith and David Warner have been omitted from Australia’s one-day squad for the series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates as they serve out the final weeks of their ball-tampering bans and recover from elbow injuries.

Smith and Warner’s 12-month suspensions end on March 28, making them eligible to play the final two ODIs against Pakistan.

Smith, Warner omitted from Australia ODI squad. Photo: Getty Images

However, with both men recovering from elbow surgery, Cricket Australia has opted against selecting them, with the duo to return to playing duty in the Indian Premier League.

Steve Smith and David Warner will have to find form in the Indian Premier League to win places in Australia’s squad for the World Cup after being left out of the final warm-up series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates.

Cricket Australia will continue to liaise with both Steve, David and their IPL clubs to monitor progress as we build towards the ICC World Cup and the Ashes,” selector Trevor Hohns said in a media release.

The pair’s ball-tampering bans expire on March 28, which would have made them eligible to play in the final two matches of the UAE series in Dubai on March 29 and March 31.

Smith will play for Rajasthan Royals, with Warner to feature for Sunrisers Hyderabad in the IPL, which starts March 23. The 15-man squad for the World Cup will be named on April 23.

In a blow for Australia’s hopes of building momentum for the World Cup in England starting late May, pace spearhead Mitchell Starc has been ruled out of the squad after a setback during his recovery from a left pectoral strain.

Starc hurt his left pectoral muscle bowling in the second Test against Sri Lanka in Canberra a month ago. He was hopeful of making a comeback in the UAE, but a recurrence of the injury has ruled him out of the series. All efforts will now be made to have the left-armer ready for the World Cup, which starts in less than three months.

Injured quick Mitchell Starc has been ruled out of the upcoming ODI series against Pakistan
Photo: Cricket Australia

“This has ruled him out of the Pakistan series and while frustrating for all involved, our focus is to have Mitch ready for the World Cup,” Hohns said.

Fast bowler Kane Richardson has been included in the squad despite returning home from India with a side strain. The five-match series against Pakistan starts March 22 in Sharjah.


1. Aaron Finch (c), 2. Pat Cummins (vc), 3. Alex Carey (vc), 4. Jason Behrendorff, 5. Nathan Coulter-Nile, 6. Peter Handscomb, 7. Usman Khawaja, 8. Nathan Lyon, 9. Shaun Marsh, 10. Glenn Maxwell, 11. Jhye Richardson, 12. Kane Richardson, 13. Marcus Stoinis, 14. Ashton Turner, 15. Adam Zampa

Series Schedule:

March 22: First ODI at Sharjah

March 24: Second ODI at Sharjah

March 27: Third ODI at Abu Dhabi

March 29: Fourth ODI at Dubai

March 31: Fifth ODI at Dubai


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top