PAK v SA 2021

Big Names Dropped as South Africa announce ODI, T20I squads for Pakistan series

Cricket South Africa (CSA) today announced the ODI and T20I squads that will take on Pakistan in the upcoming limited-overs series.

Both squads will be led by Temba Bavuma that will consist of 22 players for the ODI series and 17 for the T20I series. The tour runs from April 2-16 and consists of three ODIs and four T20 International matches.

All-rounder Wihan Lubbe and fast bowler Lizaad Williams received maiden call-ups as South Africa announced squads for the limited-overs series against Pakistan, beginning 2 April.

Lubbe has been included in the T20I set-up while Williams features in both the formats. The will be Temba Bavuma’s first assignment after he was recently named South Africa’s captain in the limited-overs format.

Faf du Plessis is one of the big names missing in the squad. Photo: Getty Images

Returning to the side are Aiden Markram and Wiaan Mulder. The duo last played in 2019 and will be back after injuries had kept them out of the white-ball sides last season.

Sisanda Magala, Migael Pretorius, Kyle Verreynne who have previously been a part of the South African dressing room but are yet to make a debut in the shortest format have also received a nod.

Faf du Plessis is one of the big names missing in the squad. Also missing from the T20I set-up is Quinton de Kock, who features in the ODI squad.

CSA Convenor of Selectors Victor Mpitsang said that they are looking forward to seeing what the new additions to the team will contribute to the Proteas’ system.

In terms of an agreement between CSA and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), those players awarded Indian Premier League (IPL) contracts will be released early to join their respective teams.

Proteas ODI squad:

Temba Bavuma (captain), Quinton de Kock (wk), Beuran Hendricks Heinrich Klaasen, Janneman Malan, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts, Rassie van der Dussen, Junior Dala, Lutho Sipamla, Wiaan Mulder, Sisanda Magala, Kyle Verreynne, Daryn Dupavillon, Lizaad Williams

Proteas T20I squad:

Temba Bavuma (captain), Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Rassie van der Dussen, Janneman Malan, Sisanda Magala, Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Kyle Verreynne (wk), Pite van Biljon, Migael Pretorius, Lizaad Williams Wihan Lubbe

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: West Indies vs South Africa: Match Preview, Pre-analysis & Predicted Dream 11 team — Its All About Cricketing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top