PAK v ZIM 2020

PCB likely to drop senior players from squad for series against Zimbabwe

Veteran all-rounder Shoaib Malik is likely to be dropped for the upcoming three-match Twenty20 International (T20I) series against Zimbabwe on home soil as chief selector Misbah-ul-Haq wants to give young batsman Khushdil Shah a chance.

According to sources, Malik, who has scored 177 runs at a strike rate of 128 in the ongoing National T20 Cup, could be replaced in the playing XI by left-hander Khushdil Shah — who scored the fastest century by a Pakistan player in T20 Cricket, off just 35 balls, while playing for Southern Punjab.

Khushdil Shah has has scored 328 runs at a strike rate of 182.22 in the ongoing National T20 Cup.

Shah, who made his T20I debut against Australia in Perth in 2019, did not feature in any of the matches on the last England tour despite being part of the squad.

Central Punjab’s Abdullah Shafique, who is the third highest run-scorer in National T20 Cup with 358 runs, is also likely to be included in the squad.

Meanwhile, opener Fakhar Zaman, pacer Wahab Riaz and wicketkeeper-batsman Sarfaraz Ahmed could be rested for the series but discussions in this regard are ongoing.

Despite being in good form with the bat, all-rounder Mohammad Hafeez could also be sidelined for the series as the PCB’s top brass is unhappy with him over meeting with Prime Minister Imran Khan for resumption of departmental cricket.

Sources further reveled that Misbah, chief selector, has been closely following the National T20 Cup and even asked coaches to play and change batting order of certain players during the tournament.

One example of this was wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Rizwan whose performance is being kept a strict eye on. In fact, his promotion up the batting order for Khyber Pakhtunkhwa was reportedly on Misbah’s say-so. He scored four half centuries as an opener for his side and is likely to retain his spot for the Zimbabwe series ahead of Sarfaraz, who is to be rested.

Misbah has already stated that Pakistan’s limited-overs squads for the home series against Zimbabwe will be named on October 19, once the National T20 Cup has concluded.

Pakistan will launch its bid to qualify directly for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 by taking on Zimbabwe in the three ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League matches in Rawalpindi on October 30, November 1 and 3.

Meanwhile, Lahore will stage the three T20Is on November 7, 8 and 10. These matches were initially planned to take place in Rawalpindi.


30 Oct – 1st ODI, Pindi Cricket Stadium

1 Nov – 2nd ODI, Pindi Cricket Stadium

3 Nov – 3rd ODI Pindi Cricket Stadium

7 Nov – 1st T20I Gaddafi Stadium

8 Nov – 2nd T20I, Gaddafi Stadium

10 Nov – 3rd T20I, Gaddafi Stadium

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top