T10 League

Qalandars CEO lashes out at PCB

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday revoked its conditional No Objection Certificate (NOC) issued to the players for the participation on next month’s T-10 Cricket league in the United Arab Emirates.

PCB’s decision would affect at least 14 contracted players who were signed by different teams for the tournament which starts from November 15th.

As many as 16 players were picked by various teams in players’ draft for the tournament. However, being non-contracted at any level, Shahid Afrdi and Imran Nazir are exempted from PCB’s decision.

The PCB, in a statement on Wednesday, said that the decision has been made in the best interest of the players as well as to continue enhancing the credibility and reputation of the new domestic structure.

“To manage the players’ workload, continued work on their fitness levels as well as to ensure primacy and participation of its players in its premier Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, the PCB has revoked conditional NOCs of its players to feature in the T10 tournament,” the PCB said in the statement.

The PCB’s decision would largely affect Qalandars T10 team, which is owned by PSL team Lahore Qalandars. Qalandars will lose at least several contracted players, including Mohammad Hafeez.

The other Qalandars’ players to be affected by PCB’s decision are Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, and Ahsan Mirza.

The CEO of T10 franchise Qalandars did not hold back in his anger at development.

Sameen Rana lost players of the quality in one fell swoop, leading him to say the PCB should have made this call well ahead of the draft to enable the franchises to make informed decisions.

“I wish it had been clear before the draft whether the PCB would issue NOCs or not,” Rana told ESPNcricinfo.

“This is a proper cricket organisation and it hasn’t suddenly dawned on them that the league clashes with the Quaid-e-Azam trophy. I think it’s disappointing for the Pakistan players, with them being prevented from playing in global events like the T10. They would have had a chance to learn from players around the world. The WICB, CA, and almost all other boards are supporting this league.”

Qalandars is owned by the same group that owns the Lahore Qalandars in the Pakistan Super League.

“The purpose of our team was to give the Pakistani players an opportunity,” said Rana. “This is visible from the draft we conducted, where there are 10 Pakistani players, including our captain Sohail Akhtar. We didn’t expect the NOCs to be revoked so late in the day. If we had, perhaps our decision would have been different.”

“Our team will be badly hurt; there is no doubt about it, but a lot of guys are here from the Player Development Programme. So we don’t need NOCs for them. These are players that we have developed and groomed, and they are on our contracts. But it would have been good to get support from the PCB because this is a fundamentally Pakistani team. Qalandar is a Pakistani name.”

Rana, however, emphatically rejected the explanation of PCB and said: “I don’t agree with the statement the PCB put out on the workload of the Pakistan players. Did they not think about the workload on Mohammad Hafeez when they issued him an NOC for the CPL? This is something I don’t understand. You can play in the CPL, you can play in Canada and everywhere else in the world. But when it comes to the T10, where you have a Pakistani-origin team that is full of Pakistanis, you refuse permission? If you wanted to take this decision, you could have taken it before the draft. What has happened is the PCB has dealt us a massive blow.”

The Pakistan players who were drafted in the league are as follows:

Qalandars: Mohammad Hafeez, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, Imran Nazir, Sohail Akhtar, Haris Rauf, Mirza Ahsan.

Team Abu Dhabi: Mohammad Amir.

Delhi Bulls: Shoaib Malik, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Hasnain, Aamer Yamin.

Maratha Arabians: Mohammad Irfan.

Deccan Gladiators: Anwar Ali.

Northern Warriors: Wahab Riaz.

The third edition of the T10 league, set to take place in the UAE from 15 to 24 November this year, includes eight teams.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top