T10 League

Three Pakistani Players joins T10 League without NOC from PCB

The third season of the T10 Cricket League or what is now called the Abu Dhabi T10will be played from November 15-24, 2019. The Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi will play host to this tournament this year, with eight teams participating in the competition again.

The Abu Dhabi T10 league has been rebooted for its third season. This season will see four new teams with the three existing teams returning for the third edition of the tournament.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) revoked its conditional No Objection Certificate (NOC) issued to the players for the participation on next month’s T-10 Cricket league in the United Arab Emirates.

PCB’s decision affected at least 14 contracted players who were signed by different teams for the tournament which starts from November 15th.

Now in a surprise move, Three uncapped Pakistani players have walked out of their first-class teams, insisting they wanted to play for Qalandars in the T10 league, giving a new turn to the ongoing tussle between players and the Pakistan Cricket Board.

Fast bowler Haris Rauf, Batsmen Mirza Ahsan Baig and Sohail Akhtar have apparently decided to fly out to Abu Dhabi although the board is yet to issue NOCs to players for the tournament.

“These three players informed their teams in domestic first-class cricket after the national T20 championship that they couldn’t play any longer in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy as they were going to play for their Pakistan Super League franchise, Lahore Qalanders,” a well-informed source said.

Haris Rauf was selected by the Lahore Qalandars in the players’ draft for the 2019 Pakistan Super League.

He said the three were planning to fly out to Abu Dhabi and try to play for the Lahore Qalanders team, Qalanders in the T10 league.

“Basically all three told their coaches that they were not interested in red ball cricket and were white ball specialists and left their teams,” the source said.

The decision of PCB has put everyone in a difficult situation specially for players like Haris Rauf. Haris was picked by Lahore Qalandars from streets so he cannot go against the institution that brought him from the streets.

According to source, If these players went on playing the T10, there future for International might end.

An official in the Pakistan Cricket Board made it clear that while the players were free to travel anywhere in the world but they couldn’t play in the T10 league without the NOC from the PCB.

“The T10 league is a event recognized by the ICC so players have to show NOCs of their home boards to play in the event,” he said.

The PCB’s decision has largely affected Qalandars T10 team, which is owned by PSL team Lahore Qalandars. Qalandars will lose at least several contracted players, including Mohammad Hafeez.

Qalandars, who are a new addition to the tournament make their debut on the opening day. Qalandars are led by the Pakistani legend Shahid Afridi.

The Lahore Qalanders franchise owners were upset when the board revoked the NOCs after initially issuing them to a number of players with reports indicating that the orders had come directly from the Prime Minister since the T10 league had the involvement of lot of Indians.

The Lahore Qalanders owners feel done in as they entered their team in the T10 league with majority of the players from Pakistan.

Earlier, on this decision of Pakistan Cricket Board, a group of Pakistan Cricketers went on strike against PCB last week.

Imad Wasim, Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Amir were among a group of Pakistan’s cricketers on the verge of a strike last week, until a meeting with PCB chief executive Wasim Khan averted the threat – for now, reported ESPNcricinfo.

At the heart of it was the players’ anger at the PCB’s revoking of NOCs for the upcoming T10 league in Abu Dhabi, but the meeting ended up encompassing a number of issues, including the overall NOC policy and communication between players and the board.

The situation in the meeting remains fluid, as PCB insists that it will not change its T10 decision.

The Pakistan players who were drafted in the T10 League are as follows:

Qalandars: Mohammad Hafeez, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf, Imran Nazir, Sohail Akhtar, Haris Rauf, Mirza Ahsan.

Team Abu Dhabi: Mohammad Amir.

Delhi Bulls: Shoaib Malik, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Hasnain, Aamer Yamin.

Maratha Arabians: Mohammad Irfan.

Deccan Gladiators: Anwar Ali.

Northern Warriors: Wahab Riaz.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top