WWT20 2018

Pakistan’s Javeria Khan unlocked another achievement

© Getty Images

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the team of the tournament of the Women’s World T20 2018 based on performances during the 16-day tournament held across three venues in the West Indies.

Three players each from England and India, two from Australia, and one each from Pakistan, New Zealand and the West-Indies have been named in the eleven, which was selected by an esteemed selection panel that included three former international players.

Pakistan’s Javeria Khan has made it to the star-studded ICC Women s World T20 2018 dream team, selected by a five-member panel of experts.

Javeria Khan hit six fours in her 36, New Zealand v Pakistan, Women’s World T20, Providence, November 15, 2018. © IDI / Getty Images

Pakistan’s captain Javeria Khan, one of two captains to make the squad along with India’s Harmanpreet Kaur, has been named to lead the team, with player of the tournament Alyssa Healy of Australia, India’s left-handed opener Smriti Mandhana and England’s Amy Jones nominated to bat ahead of her.

Thrust into the captaincy role just before the tournament, Javeria responded well. She topped the run-scorers’ chart for her team, and was outstanding especially against Ireland, when she scored a 52-ball 74, a Pakistani record in T20Is. She followed that up with 36 in 23 balls against New Zealand, another excellent effort.

Allrounders Deandra Dottin of the Windies and Allyse Perry of Australia, and England fast bowler Anya Shrubsole are the seam bowlers in the squad with off-spinner Leigh Kasperek of New Zealand, leg-spinner Poonam Yadav of India and left-arm spinner Kirstie Gordon of England the slow bowlers.

Australia’s players celebrate winning the ICC Women’s World T20 final cricket match against England at Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground, North Sound, Antigua and Barbuda, on November 24, 2018. (Photo by Randy Brooks / AFP) (Photo credit should read RANDY BROOKS/AFP/Getty Images)

Bangladesh’s new-ball bowler Jahanara Alam has been named as the 12th player.

The selection panel comprised former players and commentators Ian Bishop, Anjum Chopra and Ebony Rainford-Brent, journalist Melinda Farrell and the ICC’s General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice.

Women’s World T20 2018 Team of the Tournament:

  1. Alyssa Healy (Australia) – 225 runs
  2. Smriti Mandhana (India) – 178 runs
  3. Amy Jones (England) – 107 runs, 5 dismissals
  4. Harmanpreet Kaur (India) – 183 runs
  5. Deandra Dottin (Windies) – 121 runs, 10 wickets
  6. Javeria Khan (Pakistan) – 136 runs
  7. Ellyse Perry (Australia) – 60 runs, 9 wickets
  8. Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand) – 8 wickets
  9. Anya Shrubsole (England) – 7 wickets
  10. Kirstie Gordon (England) – 8 wickets
  11. Poonam Yadav (India) – 8 wickets
  12. Jahanara Alam (Bangladesh) – 6 wickets


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top